Subject and Course Guides: Popular and General Interest Magazines at UIC Library: Digital and Print Resources: Digital Magazine Archives

Digitized Magazines: 19th century and earlier

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-5
PDFs are available, mostly black-and-white, but issues are not browsable. Instead, search for a topic and limit by date and/or format to see individual articles, advertisements, cartoons/caricatures, etc.
American Periodicals (1740-1940)
American periodicals originating between 1740-1940, covering two centuries of American history and culture. Full images with searchable text.
Subject: U.S. history and culture
Content: American periodicals originating between 1741-1941, covering two centuries of Americana
Format: ASCII background searchable text, full image
Why it’s Unique:
• 200 years of American history
• Now complete! 7 million page images, over 1,100 periodicals
• Major events and everyday life in full image
• Interface customized for searching historical content
Harper's Weekly (1857-1889)
America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.
America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

Better Homes and Gardens
more...less...
Available via Women's Magazine Archive I (ProQuest)
Black Panther Newspaper
The official newspaper for the Black Panther Party. It was founded by Huey P. Newton and Bobby Seale in 1967 and ran through 1980 printing 537 issues. The newspaper distributed information about the party's activities and the ideologies of the Black Panther Party, focusing on both international revolutions as inspiration and contemporary racial struggles of African Americans across the United States. In it's later years, it served as a platform to rally support for members of the party who became political prisoners.
Cosmopolitan

Ebony Magazine Archive
Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com