Sample Research Questions
- To what extent has gentrification impacted Latino communities in Chicago?
- A 2017 Pew Research Report states that 11% of American adults with Hispanic ancestry do not identify as Hispanic. Why is it important that culture and identity is maintained? What is gained or lost when assimilating into a majority culture?
- What negative stereotypes exist in media and film for Latino populations? What creative works challenge those stereotypes and highlight accurate experiences within Latino communities?
- To what extent has Latino youth activism contributed to social change? Looking at the last 50 years identify instances where activism has occurred and discuss the outcome of their efforts.
Search Terms
- Race identity
- Social aspects
- Mental health
- Family relationships
- Social class
- Economic aspects
- Ethnic identity
- Latino American
- Hispanic American
- Belonging
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
Primary Sources: Documents--diaries, letters, drawings, and memoirs--created by those who participated in or witnessed the events of the past tell us something that even the best-written article or book cannot convey. These first hand accounts can also include video, interviews, photographs, social media posts (depending on the context)
Secondary Sources: Information is one that was created later by someone who did not experience first-hand or participate in the events or conditions you’re researching. For the purposes of a historical research project, secondary sources are generally scholarly books and articles.
Resources of Interest
- Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
- eBook Collection (EbscoHost)Search EBSCOhost's e-book collection.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Current articles from ethnic-focused news groups worldwide.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital Library catalog provides access to the immense collections of the over 50 partner institutions who have contributed their works to be accessible in digital form. Logging in is optional, but it allows for full text downloading.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Also provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
- SAGE Premier Full TextPlatform for journals in journals in communications studies, criminology, education, nursing, political science, psychology, sociology, urban studies & planning, and more.
- SciELO Citation Index (2002-present)
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) Citation Index provides access to scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.
- The Journal of Latino-Latin American StudiesThe Journal of Latino/Latin American Studies (JOLLAS) is an interdisciplinary, international, and peer-reviewed journal housed in the Office of Latino/Latin American Studies (OLLAS) at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. The journal reflects shifting demographics, geographic dispersion, and new community formations occurring among Latino populations throughout the Americas.
- US Latina & Latino Oral History JournalThe US Latina & Latino Oral History Journal is a research publication created to mine, showcase, and promote the rich field of oral history as it relates specifically to the US Latina and Latino experience.
- The Journal of Latinos and EducationThe Journal of Latinos and Education (JLE) provides a cross-, multi-, and interdisciplinary forum for scholars and writers from diverse disciplines who share a common interest in the analysis, discussion, critique, and dissemination of educational issues that impact Latinos. There are four broad arenas which encompass most issues of relevance: (1) Policy, (2) Research, (3) Practice, and (4) Creative & Literary Works.
- Latino StudiesThis journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. Latino Studies presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups.
The Latino Migration Experience in North Carolina, Revised and Expanded Second Edition by ISBN: 9781469646404Publication Date: 2018-09-04
- The Latino Neighborhoods Report: Issues and Prospects for ChicagoThe Latino Neighborhoods Report: Issues and Prospects for Chicago presents demographic characteristics of Latinos in Chicago, examines the neighborhoods in Chicago with a majority Latino population, and finds that opportunities and services for Latinos are not keeping up with the population’s growth
- The 2015 U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS)The U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS) was conducted by the National Center for Transgender Equality in the summer of 2015
and was offered online in English and Spanish. The results provide a detailed look at the experiences of transgender people across a wide range of categories, such as education, employment, family life, health, housing, and interactions with the criminal justice system.
- Pew Research | Hispanic TrendsPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Minority HealthOMH is focused on the collective goal of the success, sustainability and spread of health equity promoting policies, program and practices. OMH’s primary function of promoting policy program and practice adoption is supported by additional functions including convening partners; collecting, analyzing and reporting data; disseminating information; and conducting demonstrations and evaluations.
- National Museum of American History | Latino HistoryLatino history is American history. Latinos trace their origins to Latin America and other Spanish colonies, both in the Caribbean and in the contemporary United States. These groups include, but are not limited to, Indigenous, Mestizos, Afro-Latinos, and other mixed-race people. Currently representing the largest ethnic minority in the country, Latinos have participated in the creation and growth of this nation well before it was named the United States. Complex stories of colonization, immigration, and slavery make Latino history an infinite source for inquiry and knowledge. Explore many complex Latino narratives through our exhibits, collections, archives, programs, and blogs
- Latinx TalkLatinx Talk is an online, interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, and moderated forum for the circulation and discussion of original research, commentary, and creative work in brief and diverse formats such as essays (500-2000 words), multimedia presentations, podcasts, and short video.
- UnidosUSSince 1968, UnidosUS—formerly known as NCLR—has remained a trusted, nonpartisan voice for Latinos.
We serve the Hispanic community through our research, policy analysis, and state and national advocacy efforts, as well as in our program work in communities nationwide. And we partner with a national network of nearly 300 Affiliates across the country to serve millions of Latinos in the areas of civic engagement, civil rights and immigration, education, workforce and the economy, health, and housing.
Citing Sources
Below are some sample citations. All examples are taken from EBSCOHost Databases.
APA Style
The main scholarly association for academic psychologists in the United States, the American Psychological Association (APA) has developed standardized methods for citing print and electronic sources used in research.
Instructions
Entries in the reference list are arranged in alphabetical order by the last name of the first author, followed by the initials of the author’s first name. Entries have a hanging indent (second and subsequent lines of citations are indented).
Names: Last name followed by first and middle initials (separated by periods).
Titles: Titles of articles, books and book chapters are in sentence case - capitalize only the first word, proper nouns and abbreviations that are ordinarily capitalized. Names of periodicals are capitalized headline style (capitalize all words except for prepositions and common conjunctions).
Dates: Use the order: year, month day.
Note: These are only basic examples of the APA style. More detailed information is available through the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th edition) and http://www.apastyle.org/. In addition, a variety of third-party style guides and web sites can provide further assistance.
Always consult your library resources for exact formatting and punctuation guidelines and pay special attention to specific requirements from your instructor.
Journal Article
Pattern:
[Author Last Name], [Author First/Middle Name Initial(s)]. ([Publication Year]). [Title of the article]. [Name of the Journal], [Volume Number]([Issue Number]), [Page number starts]-[ends]. [https://doi-org.proxy.cc.uic.edu/Digital Object Identifier]
Example:
Crainer, S., & Dearlove, D. (2003). Windfall economics. Business Strategy Review, 14(4), 68-72. https://doi-org.proxy.cc.uic.edu/10.1111/j.2003.00288.x
Magazine Article
Pattern:
[Author Last Name], [Author First/Middle Name Initial(s)]. ([Publication Year, Month]). [Title of the article]. [Name of the Magazine], [Volume Number]([Issue Number]), [Page number starts]-[ends].
Example:
Carter, A., & Holmes, S. (2007, February). Curiously strong teamwork. BusinessWeek, (4023), 90–92.
Newspaper Article
Pattern:
[Author Last Name], [Author First/Middle Name Initial(s)]. ([Publication Date]). [Title of the article]. [Title of the Newspaper], [Volume Number]([Issue Number]) (if available), [Page number starts]-[ends] (or, if not consecutive) [Page number starts]-[ends] (or, if not consecutive) [Page numbers starts], [ends].
Example:
Meichtry, S., Berretta, D., & Colchester, M. (2009, April 8). Italy quake rescue extends to artwork. Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition, 253(81), A7.
Book Chapter
Pattern:
[Author Last Name], [Author First/Middle Name Initial(s)]. ([Publication Year]). [Title of the chapter]. In [Editor Last Name], [Editor First/Middle Name Initial(s)] ([abbr. contributor’s role as applicable]), [Title of the book] (pp. [Page number starts]-[ends]). [Publisher Name].
Example:
Belsky, J. (1992). The research findings on gender issues in aging men and women. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 163–171). Springer Publishing Co.
E-Book
Pattern:
[Author Last Name], [Author First/Middle Name Initial(s)]. ([Publication Year]). [Title of the e-book]. [Publisher Name]. [Digital Object Identifier] (if available)
Example:
Thorbeck, D. (2019). Agricultural landscapes: Seeing rural through design. Routledge.
Published Conference Paper
Pattern:
[Author Last Name], [Author First/Middle Name Initial(s)]. ([Publication Date]). [Title of the conference paper]. [Name of the Conference Proceedings], (pp. [Page number starts]-[ends]). [Publisher Location]: [Publisher Name]. https://doi-org.proxy.cc.uic.edu/[Digital Object Identifier]
Example:
Pierson, E., Althoff, T., & Leskovec, J. (2018). Modeling individual cyclic variation in human behavior. Proceedings of the 2018 World Wide Web Conference, (pp. 107–116). Republic and Canton of Geneva, Switzerland: International World Wide Web Conferences Steering Committee. https://doi-org.proxy.cc.uic.edu/10.1145/3178876.3186052
Website
Pattern:
[Organization Name] or [Author Last Name], [Author First/Middle Name]. ([Publication Date or n.d. if date is not listed]). [Title of the website]. [URL]
Example:
IBM. (n.d.). Energy and environment. https://www.ibm.com/ibm/green/
- RefWorksRefWorks is an online bibliography management service that allows you to capture citations, store them, and use them while writing papers.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL):The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.
APA Style Blog:The APA Style blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. It’s run by the APA Style team—a group of style experts who work with APA Style every day. We regularly publish posts to talk about what we love—writing, publishing, and APA Style.
Understanding Resources
Research is a conversation in which you engage with, interpret, synthesize and challenge different sources, ultimately adding your own voice to the conversation. The web is full of different source types that contribute different perspectives to the conversation, some more scholarly than others. Take a look at your assigned source, and answer the following question as it relates to the topic below.
Question: Which of these sources is appropriate to use in research? Why?
Topic: To what extent has gentrification impacted Latino communities in Chicago?
Be prepared to share with the rest of the class.
Your Librarian
University of Illinois at Chicago
Finding Primary Sources
- Latin American Weekly ReportLatin American Weekly Report provides updates on key political and economic developments in the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.