Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Funding

Scholarships, fellowships, and grants for medical and nursing students

Home

Funding Basics

Browse funding information for medical and nursing professions by using the tabs above. Information about the following types of awards and programs is available:

  • Scholarships
  • Grants
  • Fellowships
  • Summer opportunities
  • Military and public service programs

Other resources:

Deadlines:

All deadlines and requirements are unique. Be sure to check the website of each funding option for information about meeting deadlines and requirements. If you have additional questions call or email the funding organization or the UIC Office of Student Financial Aid.

Medical Students

Scholarships and Grants

Resources

Brown University Scholarship List: For an extensive list of scholarships, grants, and fellowships, visit Brown University's scholarship web page. Awards are broken down into several categories, including general, career plans/specialized fields/research fellowships, gender (women), cultural/ethnic/religious affiliation, minorities underrepresented in medicine, and state residency requirement.

FinAid: Financial Aid for Medical School: Provides a variety of introductory sources for financial aid for medical school students including financial aid guides, listings of medical associations plus loan programs and scholarships. 

Scholarships and Grants

AMA Scholarships

The AMA Foundation provides financial assistance through scholarships, grants and awards to deserving medical students and residents across the nation.

American Medical Women's Association Scholarships

The AMWA provides scholarships, fellowships, awards and loans to AMWA student members who are medical students and premedical students. They also offer regional grants and awards to residents. 

Chinese American Physicians Society Scholarship

The CAPS scholarships are open to all medical students in need of financial aid regardless of their hometown, sex, race or color. The applicants are judged according to their academic achievements, financial needs, community service records and essays. Special credit is also given to those who are willing to serve the Chinese communities after their graduation.

The Golden Key Scholar Award

This is Golden Key’s premier scholarship award. This scholarship supports members' post-baccalaureate study at accredited universities anywhere in the world.

Herbert W. Nickens Medical Student Scholarship (AAMC)

Honoring individuals who assist medical schools achieve their diversity objectives and eliminate health care disparities. These awards consist of five scholarships given to outstanding students entering their third year of medical school who have shown leadership in efforts to eliminate inequities in medical education and health care and have demonstrated leadership efforts in addressing educational, societal, and health care needs of minorities in the United States. A medical school may nominate one student per year for this award. A candidate must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident and entering the third year of study in a LCME-accredited U.S. medical school in the fall semester. Students enrolled in combined degree programs (such as M.D./Ph.D.) are eligible when they are entering their third year of medical school.

Joan F. Giambalvo Memorial Scholarship

The American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation in association with the AMA Women Physicians Congress (WPC) has established the Joan F. Giambalvo Memorial Scholarship Fund with the goal of advancing the progress of women in the medical profession and strengthening the ability of the AMA to identify and address the needs of women physicians and medical students.

Kaiser Permanente Medical Student Scholarship

Scholarship applicants must be a third year medical student in good academic standing and expect to graduate in the spring semester, demonstrate commitment and achievement in one or both of the scholarship areas, be interested in seeking a residency in Northern California, and be able to participate in a one month clerkship at a Kaiser Permanente facility in Northern California during their fourth year of medical school.

Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund (World Bank)

The MMMF awards grants to students from developing countries who are currently studying in the United States or Canada; grants are not renewable. Every year, the MMMF also invites the recipients to Washington DC to participate in a three day Awards Program organized in their honor.

The National Medical Fellowship Need-Based Scholarship Program provides financial assistance to United States citizens from groups currently under represented in the medical profession. Eligible candidates must be first, second, or third year medical students.

The U.S. Department of Health Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students program provides funds to schools. In turn, the schools make scholarships to full-time, financially needy students from disadvantaged backgrounds, enrolled in health professions and nursing programs. Participating schools are responsible for selecting scholarship recipients, making reasonable determinations of need, and providing scholarships that do not exceed the cost of attendance (tuition, reasonable educational expenses and reasonable living expenses).

*All language used to describe awards comes directly from the respective scholarship web sites. 

Deadlines and Amounts

All funding deadlines and amounts are unique and subject to change from year to year. Click on the link provided to find out the deadline and requirements of the funding option. 

Fellowships and Summer Opportunities

Summer Opportunities

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) Summer Medical Student Fellowships in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

The AACAP Summer Medical Student Fellowships offer a chance for medical students to explore a career in child and adolescent psychiatry, gain valuable work experience, and meet leaders in the child and adolescent psychiatry field. Participants are required to attend the AACAP Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA.

American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) Medical Student Summer Research Fellowship

The fellowship is open to medical students in the United States or Canada who have completed one or two years of medical school and wish to spend a summer working in a neurosurgical laboratory, mentored by a neurosurgical investigator who is a member of the AANS and will sponsor the student.

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Student Summer Research Fellowship

The Student Summer Research Fellowship grants are modeled on NIH short-term training grants, but are awarded for research into community health and cultural competency issues, rather than laboratory work. The Foundation's goal is to provide an opportunity for students to work directly with patients and to become more compassionate, relationship-centered physicians.

Betty Ford Institute Summer Institute for Medical Students (SIMS) 

Summer Institute for Medical Students (SIMS) is a week-long experiential learning program for 1st and 2nd year medical students to gain first-hand knowledge of treating addiction. The main objective of the SIMS Program is to provide medical students with the knowledge that addiction is a treatable family disease. 

David E. Rogers Fellowship Program

The Rogers Fellowship is meant to enrich the educational experiences of medical and dental students through projects that bear on medicine and dentistry as social enterprises that is, as enterprises devoted to the capacity of these professions in any and all of their expressions to serve human needs particularly the needs of underserved or disadvantaged patients or populations. The content of the Fellowship might include clinical investigation, health policy analysis, activities linking biomedicine, the social infrastructure and human need, or community activities.

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI ) Summer Medical Fellows Program

Program provides an 8-10 week research experience for medical, dental, and veterinary students in the laboratories of HHMI investigators or Janelia Farm researchers. This fellowship program is primarily aimed at those students who wish to explore the summer research experience with the intent of applying to a year-long research training program.

IDSA (Infectious Diseases Society of America) Medical Scholars Program

Students in any year of an accredited U.S. medical school are eligible for this award. The scholarship activity must focus on pediatric or adult infectious diseases and may involve either clinical or research activities. Acceptable clinical activities can range from a preceptorial relationship with an ID consultant to participation in clinical trials or any other appropriate variant of clinical activities. Acceptable research activities include all facets of infectious diseases, including epidemiology, microbiology, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. Proposals will be classified as belonging to one of the following categories: Laboratory Research (domestic), Clinical Research, and International. Each student must have a mentor who is an IDSA member or fellow. Past award recipients may not reapply. Multiple students working on the same project may apply but must submit separate applications.

Johns Hopkins C.U.P.I.D. Summer Fellowship

Cancer in the Under-Privileged, Indigent, or Disadvantaged (CUPID) is a laboratory-based summer fellowship program at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine that is designed for medical students who have an interest in bringing the benefits of modern cancer research to underserved populations in the US.

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center Summer Fellowship Program

The Medical Student Summer Fellowship program is an eight-week research program offered to medical students who have a career interest as a physician-scientist in the field of oncology and/or related biomedical sciences.

Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago Summer Externship Program

Fellowships are available in the following areas: traumatic brain injury, sports medicine/musculoskeletal, pediatric rehabilitation, chronic pain management, and spinal cord injury.

Scaife Advanced Medical Student Assistantship in Alcohol and Other Drug Dependency

The program offers students training in the field of addiction treatment and recovery incomparable to any they may have encountered in their prior medical school education or residency experience.

Vanderbilt University Diabetes Center: Medical Student Summer Research

The Vanderbilt Student Research Training Program (SRTP) allows medical students to conduct research under the direction of a Vanderbilt scientist during the summer between the first and second year or second and third year of medical school. The possible areas of diabetes-related and obesity-related research are quite broad and range from basic laboratory studies on gene regulation to clinical studies in humans.

*All language used to describe awards comes directly from the respective scholarship web sites.

Deadlines and Amounts

All funding deadlines and amounts are unique and subject to change from year to year. Click on the link provided to find out the deadline and requirements of the funding option. 

International Opportunity Databases

International Healthcare Opportunities Clearinghouse (IHOC)

Opportunities for health-care professionals and students who are interested in volunteer work with underserved communities at home or abroad. Maintained by the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

Loan Repayment or Forgiveness

Loan Forgiveness Programs

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Loan Repayment/Forgiveness

AAMC database of federal and state loan repayment/forgiveness and scholarship programs

 

National Health Service Corps

$50,000 for two years of service; $120,000 for three years full time of service or six years part time.

 

National Institute of Health (NIH) Loan Repayment Programs

Up to $35,000 per year for qualified research, two-year minimum. For researchers outside NIH in clinical, pediatric, health disparities, contraception and infertility, and clinical research for individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds. Must have total qualified education debt equal to or in excess of 20% of your institutional base salary. Must have a health professional doctor degree from an accredited institution.

 

Public Service Loan Forgiveness

Only for Direct Loan Program. Monthly payments must be made to Direct Loans while employed full-time (min. 30 hrs/wk) by federal, state or local government, non-profit 501( c)(3), Americorps, or Peace Corps.

 

*All language used to describe awards comes directly from the respective scholarship web sites.

Deadlines and Amounts

All funding deadlines and amounts are unique and subject to change from year to year. Click on the link provided to find out the deadline and requirements of the funding option. 

Military and Public Service

Military Service

United States Air Force Health Professions Scholarship Program 

The Air Force offers scholarships for Healthcare professionals to include: one-and two-year for Biomedical Science Corps specialties (Pharmacists, Optometrists, Clinical Psychologists, and Public Health Officers), two- and three-year for Nurse Corps specialties, and three- and four-year for Medical Corps and Dental Corps. This scholarship covers all tuition and required fees, including textbooks, small equipment items and supplies needed for study. You will also receive a monthly allowance for living expenses. While on scholarship you will spend 45 days on active duty in the Air Force, and once you graduate you will serve active duty (one year for each year of scholarship, with a minimum of three years).

 

United States Army Medical Department (AMEDD)

Depending on your unique situation, you may be eligible for a scholarship, a stipend program or educational loan repayment. In addition, you'll train alongside dedicated health care professionals and gain unique experience. You'll also receive paid continuing education courses and have the opportunity to earn advanced degrees. You can receive up to $120,000 to pay down your medical school debt. The Active Duty Health Professions Loan Repayment Program (ADHPLRP) provides $40,000 a year for up to three years. This program may be combined with the Health Professions Bonus. 

 

United States Navy Medical Corps

Must be a US citizen willing to dedicate a minimum of two years of Active Duty for the United States Navy after completion of degree. Students may get medical school paid for. With the Navy Health Professions Scholarship Program (HPSP), you may receive 100% tuition coverage during medical school, plus a monthly stipend of $2,179 to help cover living expenses for up to 48 months and a sign-on bonus of up to $20,000. With the Navy Health Services Collegiate Program (HSCP), you may receive from $157,000 to $269,000 while attending medical school. Residents may also apply for the Navy Financial Assistance Program which consists of a $45,000 annual grant and a monthly stipend of $2,179 to help cover living expenses for up to 48 months. 

 

*All language used to describe awards comes directly from the respective scholarship web sites.

Public Service

AmeriCorps

An AmeriCorps member serving in a full-time term of national service is required to complete the service within 12 months. Upon successful completion of the service, members are eligible to receive a Segal AmeriCorps Education Award. The education award may be used to pay educational costs at eligible post-secondary educational institutions (including many technical schools and GI-Bill approved educational programs), as well as to repay qualified student loans.

 

Peace Corps

As a Peace Corps Volunteer, you may be eligible for certain student loan relief. The regulations that authorize this relief are complicated, and different rules apply to each type of loan, so please contact your lender for details on how to apply for these benefits. 

 

*All language used to describe awards comes directly from the respective scholarship web sites.

Nursing Students

Scholarships and Grants

Resources

DiscoverNursing.com: Searchable database of hundreds of nursing scholarships.

UIC College of Nursing Financial Aid: This web page provides a list of scholarship and fellowship opportunities.

Scholarships

Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses Scholarships, Grants, and Awards

AMSN presents several awards that recognize individuals who demonstrate excellence in clinical practice, outstanding clinical leadership skills, extraordinary contributions towards the enhancement of health care, and continuous volunteer involvement in AMSN . Scholarships are offered that provide funding to support members in their pursuit of higher education, such as the Career Mobility Scholarship. AMSN also provides grants for evidence-based research projects, convention education grants, CMSRN certification grants, Nurse in Washington Internship (NIWI) scholarship, and the Competence in Aging Award.

 

AfterCollege/AACN Scholarship

The AfterCollege-AACN Scholarship Fund supports students who are seeking a baccalaureate, master’s or doctoral degree in nursing. Special consideration will be given to students in a graduate program with the goal of becoming a nurse educator; completing an RN to BSN or MSN program; and those enrolled in an accelerated nursing program.

 

American Assembly for Men in Nursing Scholarships

These scholarships are made possible through the generosity of AAMN members and benevolent giving of several dedicated corporations. AAMN’s ability to offer scholarships is directly associated with the availability of funds. Thus, scholarship applications are only accepted when funds are sufficiently available.

 

American Association of Colleges of Nurses Scholarships

This web site provides a detailed list of scholarships, grants, and fellowships available to undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduates in the field of nursing.

 

*All language used to describe awards comes directly from the respective scholarship web sites.

Deadlines and Amounts

All funding deadlines and amounts are unique and subject to change from year to year. Click on the link provided to find out the deadline and requirements of the funding option. 

Loan Repayment and Forgiveness

Loan Repayment and Forgiveness Programs

HRSA Nurse Corps (formerly Nursing Education Loan Repayment Program)

The Nursing Education Loan Repayment Program is a selective program of the U.S. Government that helps alleviate the critical shortage of registered nurses currently experienced by certain types of non-profit health care facilities by helping nurses working at them to repay their student loans. In exchange for two years of service, participants receive 60 percent of their total qualifying nursing education loan balance. For an optional third year of service, participants may receive 25 percent of their original total qualifying nursing education loan balance. Participants also receive the salary and benefits they have negotiated with their employing facility.

Public Service Loan Forgiveness

Only for Direct Loan Program. Monthly payments must be made to Direct Loans while employed full-time (min. 30 hrs/wk) by federal, state or local government, non-profit 501( c)(3), AmeriCorps, or Peace Corps.

*All language used to describe awards comes directly from the respective scholarship web sites.

Deadlines and Amounts

All funding deadlines and amounts are unique and subject to change from year to year. Click on the link provided to find out the deadline and requirements of the funding option. 

Military and Public Service

Military Service

United States Air Force Healthcare Education

Health Professions Scholarship Program

The Air Force offers scholarships for Healthcare professionals to include: one-and two-year for Biomedical Science Corps specialties (Pharmacists, Optometrists, Clinical Psychologists, and Public Health Officers), two- and three-year for Nurse Corps specialties, and three- and four-year for Medical Corps and Dental Corps. This scholarship covers all tuition and required fees, including textbooks, small equipment items and supplies needed for study. You will also receive a monthly allowance of approximately $2,060 for living expenses. While on scholarship you will spend 45 days on active duty in the Air Force, and once you graduate you will serve active duty (one year for each year of scholarship, with a minimum of three years).

 

United States Army Medical Department (AMEDD) Nurse Corps

Active Nurse Corps Benefits

As a nurse serving as an Officer in the Active Army, you'll receive a comprehensive benefits package that includes a competitive salary and financial incentives such as nursing school loan repayment. In addition to opportunities for continuing education and clinical specialization, you will receive low-cost or no-cost medical, dental and life insurance, generous retirement plan options, housing allowances and 30 days of paid vacation earned annually. You'll also enjoy a reasonable work-life balance that provides plenty of time for family and recreational pursuits.

Army Nurse Accession Bonus

You may be eligible for a sign-on bonus of up to $30,000.

Active Duty Health Professions Loan Repayment Program (ADHPLRP)

You can qualitfy for up to $120,000 to repay your nursing school loans. Under this three-year program, you could receive up to $40,000 annually for qualifying educational loans.  

United States Navy Medical Corps

NROTC

The Navy can cover the full cost – up to $180,000 – of your nursing education at some of the best colleges and universities in the country. You may receive a scholarship through the Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps (NROTC). As a student, you can concentrate on your education or training with no military/training obligation until after your program is completed.

Nurse Candidate Program (NCP)

For the Nurse Candidate Program (NCP), you can get an initial grant of $10,000, plus a stipend of $1,000 per month for up to 24 months. That’s up to $34,000 to help pay your way through nursing school.

 

*All language used to describe awards comes directly from the respective scholarship web sites.

Public Service

AmeriCorps

An AmeriCorps member serving in a full-time term of national service is required to complete the service within 12 months. Upon successful completion of the service, members are eligible to receive a Segal AmeriCorps Education Award. The education award may be used to pay educational costs at eligible post-secondary educational institutions (including many technical schools and GI-Bill approved educational programs), as well as to repay qualified student loans.

Peace Corps

As a Peace Corps Volunteer, you may be eligible for certain student loan relief. The regulations that authorize this relief are complicated, and different rules apply to each type of loan, so please contact your lender for details on how to apply for these benefits. 

 

*All language used to describe awards comes directly from the respective scholarship web sites.

Deadlines and Amounts

All funding deadlines and amounts are unique and subject to change from year to year. Click on the link provided to find out the deadline and requirements of the funding option.