At Special Collections and University Archives
Archival collections
Some of our other collections also pertain to the FPDCC or to Cook County's natural environment. These may be viewed in the Special Collections and University Archives reading room in the Richard J. Daley Library (please note our special hours).
- Hansen, Carl papersCarl Hansen served as Cook County Commissioner and Cook County Board Commissioner from 1974 to 1976.
Rare books
We have a number of rare books that pertain to the FPDCC. These rare books may be viewed in the Special Collections and University Archives reading room in the Richard J. Daley Library (please note our special hours).
- Foreman, Henry G. Outer belt of forest preserves and parkways for Chicago and Cook County : address. Chicago: 1904.Address by Henry G. Foreman, president of the Board of Cook County Commissioners, to the Outer Belt Park Commission, delivered April 21, 1904.
- Perkins, Dwight Heald. Report of the Special Park Commission to the City Council of Chicago on the subject of a metropolitan park system. Chicago: W. J. Hartman, 1905.This report was used to advocate for the creation of a forest preserve district in Cook County.
Helpful databases
Databases available to UIC students and in some cases, members of the general public, also offer access to more information about the FPDCC.
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryAmong the many holdings in the HathiTrust Digital Library are some publications by or about the Forest Preserve District of Cook County or Cook County government.
- Chicago Tribune ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1849-1999)Do keyword searches for topics related to Chicago history, including the history of the FPDCC.
Online resources
- Explore Chicago CollectionsDo keyword searches of finding aids (inventory lists) from more than 20 Chicago-area archival repositories, including UIC.
- Forest Preserve District of Cook CountyThe official site of the Forest Preserve District of Cook County.
- Friends of the Forest PreservesAn advocacy group that concerns itself with the operation of the Cook County Forest Preserves.
Subject Guide
University of Illinois at Chicago
MC 234
801 S. Morgan St. 3-330
Chicago, IL 60607
Other Resources at UIC Library
Some bound copies of proceedings from the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners, along with a selection of other resources, can be found in our stacks or in our government documents. See the UIC Library Catalog to begin searching.
Other libraries
Other Chicago area libraries hold materials generated by or written about the FPDCC. It is best to contact these institutions before going to verify their opening hours and to make sure what they have is available. In many cases, you can view finding aids of relevant collections at these and other repositories by searching the online portal at Explore Chicago Collections.