Find items in UIC Library collections, including books, articles, databases and more.
Find items on the UIC Library website, including research guides, help articles, events and website pages.
Read this chart from left to right, starting with the name of the EBook database and the accessibility features following to the right. This chart contains information for each Ebook platform listed on the following features: screen readers compatibility (JAWS and VoiceOver), ZoomText, keyboard-only navigation, Text-to-Speech compatibility, magnification and re-flowable text, contrast, font color, size and style, and distinction without color.
| Platform | File Format | Alt-text | ZoomText | Keyboard-Only Navigation | Text-to-Speech (TTS) | Magnification | Colors, Contrast, Font Style and Size | Distinction Without Color |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ProQuest | EPUB and PDF | Partially supports, provides alt-text most of the time but cannot guarantee all images have alt-text | ZoomText compatible with website but cannot read the words in an online PDF | Yes, automatically | Compatible with TTS tools, but not built-in | Supports magnification and reflow-able text up to 200% | Partially accessible. Meets minimum contrast, but Both FireFox and Chrome color and font changers are only compatible with searching but not on online ebook reading | Supports distinction without color |
| Ebsco | HTML, EPUB, and DRM-free | Partially supports, they have technology for alt-text but it depends on the source of the text | ZoomText compatible with website but cannot read the words in an online PDF. | Yes, automatically | Not built-in and not tested on text-to-speech software, but recommends users download DRM-free book chapters for TTS. This user testing found it to be compatible | Supports magnification and reflow-able text up to 200% | Accessible. Meets minimum contrast, compatible with FireFox and Chrome color and font changers | Supports distinction without color |
| Oxford | Partially supports, alt-text is missing on many texts | ZoomText compatible with website | Yes, automatically | Compatible with TTS tools, but not built-in | Does not support magnification with reflow-able text | Partially accessible. Does not meet minimum contrast, but is compatible with FireFox and Chrome color and font changers | Does not support, color is the only method to distinguish and convey meaning | |
| Sage | EPUB2, EPUB3 with MathML, and DRM-free, and PDF |
Partially supports, alt-text is missing on older texts, but you can request them to send you the alt-text if it is missing
|
ZoomText compatible with website but cannot read the words in an online PDF. | Yes, automatically | Compatible with TTS tools, but not built-in | Supports magnification and reflow-able text up to 400% | Accessible. Meets minimum contrast, and is compatible with FireFox and Chrome color and font changers | Partially supports distinction without color, but some older content relies solely on color for conveying information |
| SpringerLink | PDF and EPUB | Partially supports, most texts have alt-texts, and they are working towards full support | ZoomText compatible with website but cannot read the words in an online PDF. | Yes, automatically | Compatible with TTS tools, but not built-in | Supports magnification and reflow-able text up to 400% | Partially accessible. Newer content meets minimum contrast but older content does not, (they are working on fixing older content), and is compatible with FireFox and Chrome color and font changers | Partially supports distinction without color, but some complex images may rely on color as the only method to distinguish and convey meaning |
| Gale | HTML or PDF | Partially supports, alt-text depends on the source of the text | ZoomText compatible with website but cannot read the words in an online PDF. | Yes, automatically | Built-in TTS for online Reading | Supports magnification, and has reflow-able text up to 250% | Partially accessible. Meets minimum contrast, FireFox color and font changer fully compatible, but some icons are missing with Chrome color and font changer | Supports distinction without color |
| Science Direct | Partially supports, most texts have alt-texts, however graphs and tables tend to lack alt-text | ZoomText compatible with website but cannot read the words in an online PDF. | Yes, automatically | Compatible with TTS tools, but not built-in | Supports magnification and reflow-able text up to 400% | Partially accessible; Most text meets minimum contrast, but not all. Compatible with FireFox and Chrome color and font changers | Supports distinction without color |
| EBook Platform | JAWS | JAWS Online Text | JAWS Offline & Downloaded Text | JAWS Headings, Labels & Link Purpose |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ProQuest | Turn on accessibility mode to unlock features to fully support screen readers | Accessible | Partially accessible, reads text but cannot detect headings | Yes |
| Ebsco | All applicable commands work | Difficult to navigate, commands do not fully work, and skips some content | Partially accessible, reads text but cannot detect headings | Yes |
| Oxford | All applicable commands work | Accessible | No downloaded content | Yes |
| Sage | Accessible | Accessible | Yes | |
| SpringerLink | All applicable commands work | Accessible | Partially accessible, but some missing headings | Yes |
| Gale | All applicable commands work | "Book View" is inaccessible, select "Text view" for accessibility | Partially accessible, but some missing headings | Yes |
| Science Direct | All applicable commands work, but search results are hard to navigate because the headings are letters instead of titles. No meaningful sequence in results lists. | Website version is accessible, online PDF is missing headings | Accessible | Partially accessible, headings and labels are on the website, but missing headings in online view of texts |
| EBook Platform | VoiceOver | VoiceOver Online Text | VoiceOver Offline & Downloaded Text | VoiceOver Headings, Labels & Link Purpose |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ProQuest | Turn on accessibility mode to unlock features to fully support screen readers | Accessible | PDF and EPUB are accessible | Yes |
| Ebsco | All applicable commands work | Accessible | Partially accessible; missing headings | Yes |
| Oxford | All applicable commands work | Online oxford dictionaries were mainly accessible; with some inconsistency in the sub lists of definitions | No downloaded content | Yes |
| Sage | The "Discipline" and "Collections" drop down buttons are not accessible. No meaningful sequence. Some links are only accessible by using the tab key and not down arrow. | Accessible | Accessible | Yes |
| SpringerLink | All applicable commands work | Accessible | Partially accessible; missing headings | Yes |
| Gale | All applicable commands work | "Book View" is inaccessible, select "Text view" for accessibility | Partially accessible; missing headings | Yes |
| Science Direct | All applicable commands work, but search results are hard to navigate because the headings are letters instead of titles. No meaningful sequence in the results lists. | Partially accessible; missing headings | Partially accessible; missing headings | Partially accessible; Headings and labels are on the website; missing headings in online view of texts. |
This chart is based on the data found when we tested the accessibility for screen readers (JAWS and VoiceOver), ZoomText, Keyboard-only navigation, Text-to-Speech compatibility, Magnification and re-flowable text, Contrast, Font color, size and style, and Distinction without color. Each category was tested on the platform's website, their online EBooks, and downloaded EBooks.
Both screen readers (JAWS and VoiceOver), were used to individually test databases for proper headings and labels to easily jump to the main parts of the website. They were also tested for link purpose, which gives a title for each link, so the user knows where the link is taking them. Databases were tested to see how consistently they use alt-text descriptions for visual content in their EBooks. For ZoomText compatibility, we checked the compatibility of the screen reading, magnification, and color changing features of ZoomText. The Keyboard-only navigation category tested the ability to navigate and use all of the functions of the databases’ websites by only using the keyboard, and not a mouse or trackpad. Databases were checked for built-in text-to-speech features provided by the database. The downloaded content was also tested for compatibility with external text-to-speech websites. For magnification and reflow-able texts, we tested using built-in browser magnification and looked for the website’s ability to adapt the text to fit the screen, so that the user does not have to scroll side to side to see the magnified text. Databases were tested to see if they meet the minimum level of contrast that meets the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines. Color, font size and style changing compatibility was tested with Chrome and FireFox color and font changing extensions. Distinction without color refers to websites that do not use color as the only means of conveying information.
While the UIC Library does not offer ebooks in Kindle format, we recognize that it is an affordable format for many students who are unable to obtain a library copy. For those choosing a Kindle ebook, we want to share information and resources on Kindle app and device accessibility:
Kindle Accessibility Features:
Compatible with screen readers
Supports keyboard-only navigation
Compatible with ZoomText color-changing, but not built-in screen reader
Offers Whispersync for Voice technology to listen while reading ebooks
Text can be selected and copied (for text-to-speech or other purposes)
For more information on how to use these features, please explore these instructional resources: