How to request books through I-Share (regional ILL system)
David Braddock Library
The DHD David Braddock Library has over 3500 items in its collection and is located at the Disability, Health, and Social Policy Building at 1640 W. Roosevelt Rd.
Highlighted Titles
The Disability Studies Reader by Call Number: ONLINE & Daley Library Book Stacks: HV1568 .D5696 2017ISBN: 9781138930223Publication Date: 2016-10-19
Dis/Ability Studies by Call Number: Available online (click link for access)ISBN: 1134060831Publication Date: 2014-04-24
New Narratives of Disability by
This volume explores questions about narrative frameworks in disability research. Narrative is a omnipresent meaning-producing communication form in social life that is both cultural and personal. Public understandings of disability tend to follow a medical storyline in which disability is a personal tragedy to be treated through professional intervention - a frame that disempowers and fails to resonate with many disabled people. Scholars in disability studies and the social sciences have proposed an alternative that portrays social structures, forces, and attitudes as the problems to be resolved - a frame that, while empowering, may neglect, or even repress, some kinds of personal disability stories. This volume seeks to answer the call for richer, more diverse understandings of disability. We explore how narrative inquiry can broaden perspectives on disability to include pain, suffering, chronic illness, and episodic disability, as well as the perspectives of family members and caregivers, while also serving as a platform for dismantling prejudice and discrimination in order to promote positive social change.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1839091436Publication Date: 2019-11-25
The Routledge Handbook of Disability Arts Culture and Media by
In the last 30 years, a distinctive intersection between disability studies - including disability rights advocacy, disability rights activism, and disability law - and disability arts, culture, and media studies has developed. The two fields have worked in tandem to offer critique of representations of disability in dominant cultural systems, institutions, discourses, and architecture, and develop provocative new representations of what it means to be disabled. Divided into 5 sections: Disability, Identity, and Representation Inclusion, Wellbeing, and Whole-of-life Experience Access, Artistry, and Audiences Practices, Politics and the Public Sphere Activism, Adaptation, and Alternative Futures this handbook brings disability arts, disability culture, and disability media studies - traditionally treated separately in publications in the field to date - together for the first time. It provides scholars, graduate students, upper level undergraduate students, and others interested in the disability rights agenda with a broad-based, practical and accessible introduction to key debates in the field of disability art, culture, and media studies. An internationally recognised selection of authors from around the world come together to articulate the theories, issues, interests, and practices that have come to define the field. Most critically, this book includes commentaries that forecast the pressing present and future concerns for the field as scholars, advocates, activists, and artists work to make a more inclusive society a reality.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780815368410Publication Date: 2018-12-11
Emerging Perspectives on Disability Studies by Call Number: LHS Chicago 3rd Floor Book Stacks- HV 1568 E53 2013ISBN: 9781137372024Publication Date: 2013-11-12- Disability, Culture and Identity by First published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1315847639Publication Date: 2014
Enabling Acts by Call Number: Click link above for online access. Print copy: Daley Book Stacks, KF480 .D38 2015ISBN: 9780807071564Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Inclusion, Disability and Culture by
This book provides a global and social examination of how disabilities are played out and experienced around the world. It presents auto-ethnographic perspectives on disability across cultures, societies, and countries by documenting individuals' personal narratives, thought processes and reflections. Chapter authors share cross-cultural perspectives within and across various countries, such as India, Australia, United States, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom, Croatia, Brazil, South Africa, and Qatar. Adopting a self-reflective stance following qualitative research methodology, the chapter authors discuss the current challenges in the field. Next, they deconstruct disability identities, explore the complexities of communication with differently abled persons, examine inclusive policies, practices and interventions and present insights from caregivers. The book concludes with critical reflections and a look to the future of global diversity and inclusion.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 3319552236Publication Date: 2017
Introducing Disability Studies by Call Number: LHS Chicago 3rd Floor Book Stacks- HV1568.2 B496i 2013ISBN: 9781588268662Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Disability and Qualitative Inquiry by
This groundbreaking text makes an intervention on behalf of disability studies into the broad field of qualitative inquiry. Ronald Berger and Laura Lorenz introduce readers to a range of issues involved in doing qualitative research on disabilities by bringing together a collection of scholarly work that supplements their own contributions and covers a variety of qualitative methods: participant observation, interviewing and interview coding, focus groups, autoethnography, life history, narrative analysis, content analysis, and participatory visual methods. The chapters are framed in terms of the relevant methodological issues involved in the research, bringing in substantive findings to illustrate the fruits of the methods. In doing so, the book covers a range of physical, sensory, and cognitive impairments. This work resonates with themes in disability studies such as emancipatory research, which views research as a collaborative effort with research subjects whose lives are enhanced by the process and results of the work. It is a methodological approach that requires researchers to be on guard against exploiting informants for the purpose of professional aggrandizement and to engage in a process of ongoing self-reflection to clear themselves of personal and professional biases that may interfere with their ability to hear and empathize with others.
Call Number: Daley Library Book Stacks: HV1568.2 .D565 2015ISBN: 9781472432896Publication Date: 2016-01-12
Beginning with Disability by
While there are many introductions to disability and disability studies, most presume an advanced academic knowledge of a range of subjects. Beginning with Disability is the first introductory primer for disaibility studies aimed at first year students in two- and four-year colleges. This volume of essays across disciplines--including education, sociology, communications, psychology, social sciences, and humanities--features accessible, readable, and relatively short chapters that do not require specialized knowledge. Lennard Davis, along with a team of consulting editors, has compiled a number of blogs, vlogs, and other videos to make the materials more relatable and vivid to students. "Subject to Debate" boxes spotlight short pro and con pieces on controversial subjects that can be debated in class or act as prompts for assignments.
Call Number: Daley Library: HV1568.2 .B44 2018ISBN: 9781138211360Publication Date: 2017-09-21
Occupying Disability: Critical Approaches to Community, Justice, and Decolonizing Disability by
This book explores the concept of "occupation" in disability well beyond traditional clinical formulations of disability: it considers disability not in terms of pathology or impairment, but as a range of unique social identities and experiences that are shaped by visible or invisible diagnoses/impairments, socio-cultural perceptions and environmental barriers and offers innovative ideas on how to apply theoretical training to real world contexts. Inspired by disability justice and "Disability Occupy Wall Street / Decolonize Disability" movements in the US and related movements abroad, this book builds on politically engaged critical approaches to disability that intersect occupational therapy, disability studies and anthropology. "Occupying Disability" will provide a discursive space where the concepts of disability, culture and occupation meet critical theory, activism and the creative arts. The concept of "occupation" is intentionally a moving target in this book. Some chapters discuss occupying spaces as a form of protest or alternatively, protesting against territorial occupations. Others present occupations as framed or problematized within the fields of occupational therapy and occupational science and anthropology as engagement in meaningful activities. The contributing authors come from a variety of professional, academic and activist backgrounds to include perspectives from theory, practice and experiences of disability. Emergent themes include: all the permutations of the concept of "occupy," disability justice/decolonization, marginalization and minoritization, technology, struggle, creativity and change. This book will engage clinicians, social scientists, activists and artists in dialogues about disability as a theoretical construct and lived experience.
Call Number: Available Online (see link below) and in print at DaleyISBN: 9789401799836Publication Date: 2015-09-14
