Recommended E-Resources
Academic Journals
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- APA PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
Point-of-Care Tools
- DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
- UpToDate
UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.
Ebooks and Multimedia
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - AccessPediatrics
AccessPediatrics provides access to text books, atlases, videos, and other resources related to pediatrics, information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review. Includes captions. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Recommended Books
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by ISBN: 9781259862045Publication Date: 2018-12-11
Essentials of Family Medicine by Call Number: WB 110 E78 2019ISBN: 9781496364975Publication Date: 2018-05-03
Family Medicine PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, Fourth Edition by Call Number: WB 18.2 K67f 2019ISBN: 9781260143584Publication Date: 2018-12-12
First Aid for the Family Medicine Boards, Third Edition by Call Number: WB 18.2 F527 2018ISBN: 9781259835018Publication Date: 2017-12-11
Swanson's Family Medicine Review by Call Number: WB 18.2 S972 2017ISBN: 9780323356329Publication Date: 2016-06-22
Drug Information
- AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
- Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKeyComprehensive drug reference solution providing quick access to current, accurate and clinically-relevant drug information.
Images and Multimedia
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th editionBates' visual guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. Bates' Visual Guide features Bates' physical examinations skills videos, as well as OSCE Clinical Skills videos. Includes captions.
Patient Information
- MEDLINEPlus
Consumers' health information produced by the National Library of Medicine that is authoritative and up to date.