Clinical Immersion: Databases

Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. Includes captions and transcripts.

AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files.

Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.

IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.

Note: If you're unable to set up an IEEE account, go to https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/. After creating an account, go to IEEE in the library website and sign in.

Large collection of industry reports, covering current conditions, outlook and competitive information. Includes 1300 US industries and 75 global industries. 

Note: Users will need to create individual accounts to access some of the features.

A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data, the PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, and the Community Lifestages dataset. The CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. 

To save your searches, you need to sign up for an account using your UIC email address.

Access restricted to 5 concurrent users.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.

CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.

UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.

Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.

Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.