This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
Note: Off campus users, if you're unable to get pass the CAPTCHA page, use the VPN or sign in to your Google account by going to My Profile on the upper left hand corner of the page.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
This database is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
International literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. From 1975 to present.
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of February 2004 approximately 1,432 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list will continue to grow.
Enhancements to the new database include the capability to link to electronic fulltext and the addition of new fields to the record structure. Furthermore, many records from key journals in political science, published since 2000, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. All records added since 2000 are indexed using a thesaurus of over 3,000 terms.
Comprehensive resource for research into taxation. Note: access to titles limited to 35 simultaneous users. May not be compatible with Firefox. See also RIA Checkpoint
This resource on taxation, published by Thomso-Reuters, includes federal tax services (e.g., Federal Tax Handbook), federal primary sources (e.g., IRS Revenue Code), 50-state and local complete tax analyses, interactive tools for financial planning, and respected journals on taxation.
This resource was acquired with funds from the Library/IT Assessment. Datasets of opinion polls conducted in the U.S. from 1935 to the present. See also Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
iPOLL is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in opinion polls in the US since 1935. For US data, iPOLL permits you to locate questions (and the answers of the full sample) and then to link to the data files and run secondary analysis. Support for these services is available from the Roper Center.
Scopus contains over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide with 49 million records, 78% with abstracts. It Includes over 5.3 million conference papers and provides 100% Medline coverage with interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys,
Access to the Web of Science Core Collection which is the largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Note: author search temporarily not working properly. For better results, use the VPN.
The Web of Science, provided by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) a division of Thomson Reuters, is an index of current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from 1975 on. The bibliographic records from approximately 8,700 high impact research journals are mostly linked to full-text articles.
Ulrichweb provides comprehensive information on serials published throughout the world.
Ulrichweb provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
This resource includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day. It includes abstracts dating back to 1980, and access to the full text of many dissertations from 1997 (and sometimes earlier) to present.
As well as the author written abstracts for doctoral dissertations published since July 1980 and Master’s theses published since 1988, PQDT – A&I includes 24-page previews of dissertations and theses where available. With scholarly research content in every subject, PQDT is a multi-disciplinary resource that supports all academic departments and disciplines.