Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or
Archaeology in America by
Publication Date: 2008
Survey of the most important archaeological discoveries in North America. In-depth essays from leading scholars on over 300 of the most important archaeological sites explaining their importance and the history of the people who left the artifacts. Coverage divided into 8 regions.
U-X-L Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by
Publication Date: 2012
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal
Publication Date: 2011
Comprehensive encyclopedia of Indian removal that accurately presents the removal process as a political, economic, and tribally complicit affair. Includes Georgia Laws of 1828 and 1830, chronological timetable, and annotated bibliography of Indian removal for further research
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Publication Date: 2007
Indigeneity crosses borders! While this guide is primarily focused on Indigenous Peoples of the land now claimed by the United States of America, Native American Studies asks us to rethink the history of contemporary borders and investigate cross-cultural connections predating and persisting across them. This Encyclopedia offers comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica
American Indian Higher Education Consortium
The American Indian Higher Education Consortium, a 501(c)(3) organization governed by a board of directors composed of the presidents of the accredited United States-based Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs), a unique community of tribally and federally chartered institutions working to strengthen tribal nations and make a lasting difference in the lives of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
American Indian Language Development Institute
AILDI provide's critical training to strengthen efforts to revitalize and promote the use of Indigenous languages across generations by engaging educators, schools, Indigenous communities and policy makers through outreach, transformative teaching, purposeful research and collaborative partnerships.
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Founded in 1824 the BIA provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives in 573 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Native Villages in the United States. Contains program and policy information, as well as press releases dating back to 1953
Indian Health Service
The Indian Health Service, an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. The provision of health services to members of federally-recognized tribes grew out of the special government-to-government relationship between the federal government and Indian tribes.
EPA in Indian Country
Environmental Protection Agency and American Indian Environmental Office website.
Indigenous Digital Archive Treaty Explorer
While treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands. Search the U.S. map by Cession number to find the specific treaty originally ceding any part of the land to the U.S. government. Treaty documentation often contains subsequent decisions and rulings which altered original agreements further.
Indigenous Language Institute
ILI researches, teaches, and shares information and tools to empower Native communities to make their languages seen and heard everywhere and by everyone.
EVERY MEXICAN STATE HAS A STORY.
IndigenousMexico.org is a culmination of decades of research, brought to you by John P. Schmal, historian, genealogist, and lecturer.
Native American news, information and entertainment. Wholly-owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., the economic development corporation of the Winnebago Tribe.
National Congress of American Indians
NCAI was established in 1944 in response to the termination and assimilation policies the US government forced upon tribal governments in contradiction of their treaty rights and status as sovereign nations. To this day, protecting these inherent and legal rights remains the primary focus of NCAI.
National Indian Law Library
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents. Project Coordinators are David Selden (NILL) and Marilyn Nicely (OU).
Native American Ethnobotany
A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.
Native American Statistics Project
Research portal for individuals looking for statistical and demographic data about American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians. All of the data on this site are publically (and digitally) available from their original sources – but this site brings them together in a user-friendly, intuitive manner. Although we realize that this is neither a comprehensive database, nor an exhaustive library, we hope that it provides a good starting point for research and facilitates access to a large portion of the current data about American Indians, Alaska Natives and Native Hawaiians.
Native Land Digital is an Indigenous-led Canadian not-for-profit organization who run this interactive map of traditional territories of Indigenous Peoples of the Americas. The map does not represent or intend to represent official or legal boundaries of any Indigenous nations. To learn about definitive boundaries, contact the nations in question.
US Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
Studies the unique problems of American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native peoples and to propose legislation to alleviate these difficulties. These issues include, but are not limited to, Indian education, economic development, land management, trust responsibilities, health care, and claims against the United States. Additionally, all legislation proposed by Members of the Senate that specifically pertains to American Indians, Native Hawaiians, or Alaska Natives is under the jurisdiction of the Committee.
Books & Media
For books & multimedia items held by other Illinois academic libraries that you can request to be shipped here to check out