Selected Materials
These materials represent only a subset of content from the library. For more in-depth research into Disability Studies, we recommend checking out the research guide for Disability & Human Development.
Please also use your knowledge to enhance the UIC Library for all and Recommend an item for the UIC Library collection.
Books on Disability Culture
Disability Visibility by
ONE OF THE PROGRESSIVE'S BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent--but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Now, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled people. From Harriet McBryde Johnson's account of her debate with Peter Singer over her own personhood to original pieces by authors like Keah Brown and Haben Girma; from blog posts, manifestos, and eulogies to Congressional testimonies, and beyond: this anthology gives a glimpse into the rich complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and the past with hope and love.
Call Number: E-Book & printISBN: 1984899422
All the Weight of Our Dreams by ISBN: 9780997504507Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago book stacks
Skin, Tooth, and Bone by Call Number: PrintISBN: 9781647133658Publication Date: 2019Daley Library - Book Stacks
The Pretty One by ISBN: 9781982100544Publication Date: 2019Daley Library - Popular Reading/1st floor
Bodyminds Reimagined by ISBN: 9780822370734Publication Date: 2018E-book and print in Daley Library - Book Stacks
Black Madness :: Mad Blackness by Call Number: PrintISBN: 9781478003748Publication Date: 2019Daley Library
DisCrit : disability studies and critical race theory in education by ISBN: 9780807756676Publication Date: 2016Daley Library - Book Stacks
More Than Organs by
A love letter to Brown, Queer, and Trans futures, Kay Ulanday Barrett's More Than Organs questions "whatever wholeness means" for bodies always in transit, for the safeties and dangers they silo. These poems remix people of color as earthbenders, replay "the choreography of loss" after the 2015 Pulse shooting, and till joy from the cosmic sweetness of a family's culinary history. Barrett works "to build / a shelter // of / everyone / they] meet," from aunties to the legendary Princess Urduja to their favorite air sign. More Than Organs tattoos grief across the knuckles of its left hand and love across the knuckles of its right, leaving the reader physically changed by the intensity of experience, longing, strength, desire, and the need, above all else, to survive.
Call Number: PS3602.A8366 B274m 2020 LHS ChicagoISBN: 1943977747Publication Date: 2020-03-12
Beyond survival : strategies and stories from the transformative justice movement by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781849353632Publication Date: 2020
Medicine Stories by
In this revised and expanded edition of Medicine Stories, Aurora Levins Morales weaves together insights and lessons learned over a lifetime of activism to offer a new theory of social justice. Calling for a politics of integrity that recognizes the complicated wholeness of individual and collective lives, Levins Morales delves among the interwoven roots of multiple oppressions, exposing connections, crafting strategies, and uncovering the wellsprings of resilience and joy. Throughout these twenty-eight essays--twenty-one of which are new or extensively revised--she exposes the structures and mechanisms that silence voices and divide movements. The result is a medicine bag full of techniques and perspectives to build a universal solidarity that is flexible, nuanced, and strong enough to fundamentally shift our world toward justice. Intimately personal and globally relevant, Medicine Stories brings clarity and hope to tangled, emotionally charged social issues in beautiful and accessible language.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781478003373Publication Date: 2019
Dirty River by
Lambda Literary Award finalist In 1996, poet Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha ran away from America with two backpacks and ended up in Canada, where she discovered queer anarchopunk love and revolution, yet remained haunted by the reasons she left home in the first place. This passionate and riveting memoir is a mixtape of dreams and nightmares, of immigration court lineups and queer South Asian dance nights; it reveals how a disabled queer woman of color and abuse survivor navigates the dirty river of the past and, as the subtitle suggests, "dreams her way home." Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha's poetry book Love Cake won a Lambda Literary Award.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781551526010Publication Date: 2016-01-04
Special Collections & Archives Collections
The Disability Cultural Center (DCC) was established as one of UIC’s seven Centers for Cultural Understanding and Social Change in the Spring of 2018. Publications produced by the DCC, including their zine, Crip Wisdom, have been added to UIC's Special Collections & Archives.
Here is a finding aid for this collection.
Special Collections & Archives also includes the Adrian Scheltes collection, which contains photographs either taken by or collected by Scheltes while he was the Supervisor of Counsel and Guidance for the Blind from the Illinois Division of Vocational Rehabilitation in the late 1940s and early 1950s.
Here is the finding aid for this collection.
Books on Disability & Academia
Academic Ableism by Call Number: LC4818.38 .D66 2017ISBN: 9780472073719Publication Date: 2017Daley Library - Book Stacks
College Success for Students with Disabilities by Call Number: LC4818.38 .I64 2016ISBN: 9781476662886Publication Date: 2016Daley Library - Book Stacks
Disability in Higher Education by ISBN: 9781118018224Publication Date: 2017Daley Library - Book Stacks
History of Activism among People with Disabilities
- Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social MovementA collection of primary and secondary resources, with texts and videos, pertaining to the history and contributions of the disability community.
- E-books in the UIC Library CatalogRecent e-books about the history of activism in the disabled community.
Streaming videos
- KanopyKanopy is an on-demand service providing streaming videos that offers access to a variety of award-winning documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases.
- Film PlatformFilm platform is a collection of documentary films, that contains number of films pertaining to disabilities, including Life, Animated, Sea of Butterfly, The Punk Syndrome, and Matthew's Laws, which can be browsed by filtering by Topic-> "Disability".