Find primary research articles, news and data sets by topic using the databases:
- Web of Science Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- ScienceDirect A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Browse individual journals for the latest articles:
Journals that cover topics relating to environmental issues from a humanities viewpoint include:
Newspapers are a great local source of information. Use the following sources to find local and national news stories:
- Chicago Tribune (1985-current) This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need.
- Access World News Research Collection: 2023 EditionIncludes Chicago Sun Times
- Nexis Uni New version of Lexis Nexis Academic. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and full-text law review articles. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.