We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
ILLIAD - for interlibrary loans. This service brings you electronic copies of articles, which are not automatically available in the LHS full-text holdings. ILLIAD delivery is rapid and you may have an article in 1-2 days! Additionally, UIC faculty, staff, and students may request electronic copies of articles held in our print collections using the ILLIAD system.
a. Sign up for ILLIAD at: https://proxy.cc.uic.edu/login?url=https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/illiad.dll
To register, click on "First Time Users"
Fill out the New User Registration for ILLiad form. Be sure to use your UIC Netid as your username. This enables us to verify that you are enrolled in a UIC program. Since Distance Ed enrollees are rarely issued I-Cards, the Library ID number is not applicable. Enter N/A in this field.
If you have filled out the first information screen and a second appears asking for account information, please ignore the second screen. Only the first screen needs to be filled out to register.
Once successfully registered, online and distance ed students may request material that can be electronically reproduced and delivered, such as copies of articles and individual book chapters. We will not be able to deliver physical items such as books or media material (DVDs, etc) to distance learners.
b. The "Find It @ UIC" Button - How It Works With ILLIAD
The "Find it @ UIC" button appears on search pages and citation records when you enter these resources via the library. It is important to enter even PubMed and Google Scholar via the library links. This path allows you to be recognized as a part of the UIC organization by links-servers (proxy-servers) that are responsible for delivering materials from our licensed holdings. When you use the Find It @ UIC button to access our electronic full-text holdings, a search of our catalog and holdings is automated. If we do not own the full-text of an article, you will have access to a special link that connects you to the ILLIAD system.
When you search the catalog and receive the message - "Article is not available in electronic format" - please scroll down the page to select a link called - "Library of the Health Sciences Chicago" - select the link and login to the ILLIAD system.
The information required to process the interlibrary loan in ILLIAD should populate the loan form automatically (if you access ILLIAD from the Find IT=t@ UIC page). Interlibrary loan often takes as little as 1-2 days. A message is sent to your UIC email that your article has arrived.
To fetch your article after delivery, login to ILLIAD at https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IAX/illiad.dll?Action=99 -- look on the left-sidebar look for the link labeled "Electronically Received Articles", and download your article.pdf.
c. Watch a brief video, in which Rebecca Raszewski demonstrates the use of the "Find it @ UIC" button and ILLIAD in the context of a CINAHL database search https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4CifJgDPsY
MYNCBI - PubMed's online bibliographic management system and more - use it to save collections, searches, bibliographies....
a. Sign-up at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/account/?back_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov%2Fbooks%2FNBK3827%2F%23pubmedhelp.PubMed_Quick_Start
b. Watch the tutorial on MYNCBI for an Overview https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fTlGVPXLXeE
MYNCBI TUTORIALS - Very Brief!
MeSH Tutorial - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uyF8uQY9wys
Using Filters for PubMed Searching - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=696R9GbOyvA
Saving COLLECTIONS - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iXSttEKntCE (Note, if the Favorites icon does not show on the citation page, use the pull-down menu at Save Items).
Create Alerts (Save SEARCHES for future use as filters) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbFjV91YNNY
Keyword Searching (Details box, Advanced page) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEY1r_GDzcg
Advanced Search Page - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dncRQ1cobdc
COLLECTIONS in MYNCBI - create a new collection or move new citations to an existing collection -
CREATE ALERT / SAVE SEARCH - to save a search string and schedule e-mail updates -
CLIPBOARD - to place selected citations on an 8-hour clipboard associated with your IP address. This Clipboard can be edited, sent on to Collections, moved to RefWorks, or emailed.
REFWORKS - transfer citations from MYNCBI or PubMed to Refworks
Link to the UIC REFWORKS tutorial and citation management guides! http://researchguides.uic.edu/content.php?pid=74619&sid=552483