Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

UIC Library Faculty Profile: Kellee E. Warren, Assistant Professor and Special Collections Librarian: Home

Biography

Kellee E. Warren is Assistant Professor and Special Collections Librarian at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC). In the Spring of 2015, she earned her MSLIS degree from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

Her library career began as a graduate assistant for the Reference Services and Resources department at UIC. After graduation, she moved into her first professional position as Reference and Instruction Librarian for Prairie State College. In both positions, Kellee assisted students, faculty, and public patrons by fulfilling their research and information needs.

As the first Archie Motley Archival intern for the Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC), Kellee processed the Provident Hospital and Training School collection. Provident Hospital was the first hospital owned and operated by African Americans in the United States. She was also the Archives and Records intern for The Chicago Community Trust, a corporate non-profit organization.

 

Research

My research focus is on critical information literacy and culturally sustaining pedagogy -- the inclusion of other forms of knowledge in library instruction and materials. I am also interested in online learning, social media, and connecting underrepresented groups with their cultural heritage through archival source materials and oral histories.

Presentations

African American Digital Humanities Conference (AADHum)

2018: Intentionally Digital, Intentionally Black

Panel: Always at Work: Black Women Online

Paper: “Demands for Intellectual Labor from Black Women Thought Leaders on Twitter.”

University of Maryland, College of Arts & Humanities
 

Joint Conference of Librarians of Color (JCLC)

2018: Gathering all Peoples: Embracing Culture & Community

Peer-refereed presentation: Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy: Strengthening The LIS Response to Diverse Populations In Our Classrooms
 

Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)

2017: At the Helm: Leading Transformation

Paper: “Critical Library Instruction and Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy”

Publication(s)

Warren, K.(2016). We Need These Bodies, but Not Their Knowledge: Black Women in the Archival Science Profession, and Their Connection to the Archives of Enslaved Black Women in the French Antilles. Library Trends, 64(4). 776-794.

Assistant Professor and Special Collections Librarian

Kellee E. Warren's picture
Kellee E. Warren
Contact:
Special Collections and University Archives
UIC Library
801 South Morgan St, Rm 3-330
Chicago, IL 60607
312.996.2742