Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or
If you're looking for more general information on gender and women's history, be sure to check out these other guides. These will include information on current books and databases as well as best practices for research.
Online Resources at UIC
The following sites are hosted by UIC and may be helpful when researching the history of women in politics. If you do not find the information you are looking for, please visit or email Special Collections. If you come across any broken links, please email the Ask a Librarian service.
This website explores some of the problems settlement houses identified and depicts many of the solutions that they suggested to try to bring about meaningful change in Chicago's poorest communities. Photographs from seven Chicago settlement houses help to tell the story of how settlements changed life in Chicago's neighborhoods.
Fight School Segregation! Building a Protest Movement in Chicago, 1961-1966
An online exhibit documenting the fight to end school segregation in Chicago. Photographs and documents in this exhibit are from collections in the Special Collections Department, Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago. The materials featured here represent only a small portion of the materials available in the individual collections.
Seven Settlement Houses: Database of Photos
In the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the settlement houses of Chicago led the nation in addressing problems of urbanization, immigration, and industrialization. While many people are familiar with Chicago's most famous settlement house, Hull-House, few are aware of the creative efforts of the other settlement houses located in Illinois. This online image database features a selection of photographs and documents from the Hull-House Collection and from six other rich collections of settlement house materials housed in the Special Collections Department, University of Illinois at Chicago Library.
The Urban Experience in Chicago
A collaboration between Special Collections and the Hull House Museum, this online site explores the activities and philosophy behind the famous social settlement house. Many primary documents and images are available on the site.
Non-UIC Online Resources
The following online resources created by non-UIC institutions may be helpful when researching the history of women in politics. If you do not find the information you are looking for, please visit or email Special Collections. If you come across any broken links, please email the Ask a Librarian service.