Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Women in Politics: Personal Papers

About Special Collections

The Special Collections and University Archives Department at the Richard J. Daley library houses collections of rare books, manuscripts, maps and photographs, with particular strength in the social, political and cultural history of Chicago. The collections at the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago document Chicago's rich history as a center for the education and practice of the medical arts.

The UIC ARCHIVES is the repository for historical records of the University of Illinois at Chicago and its predesessors as well as selected papers of prominent faculty, alumni, and administrative staff.

Learning to Use Special Collections

To learn about how to use the resources available in Special Collections, please see the following guide:

Political Office Holders

The following archival collections of women political office holders can be found in the Special Collections Department, Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago. The links below lead to finding aids (lists of contents) for each collection.

Please visit Special Collections for assistance using these materials or Ask A Librarian.

Activist Women

The following collections of personal papers from activist women can be found in the Special Collections Department, Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago. The links below lead to finding aids (lists of contents) for each collection.

Please visit Special Collections for assistance using these materials or Ask A Librarian.

Ask an Archivist

Not all of our resources are available online. Special Collections encourages researchers to visit the Special Collections Reading Room and consult with an archivist. 

Special Collections Reading Room Locations and Hours

Email Ask A Librarian