Skip to Main Content

CHE 396/397

Resources for students working towards their senior design projects in Chemical Engineering

Finding Articles

SciFinder-n Registration
Register for SciFinder-n using your UIC email address.
Follow the instructions for registration. You MUST use an email address with the domain "uic.edu" in order to register. You must also connect to SciFinder-n via a UIC IP address on campus, or through VPN or the proxy. After you submit the form, CAS will send you an e-mail message with instructions for completing the registration process.
Reaxys
Reaxys is a new structure that unifies Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry databases. It also includes journal literature (1771 - present) and patent literature (1869 - present) along with search, analysis and workflow tools.
The merger of three prestigious databases puts all the relevant data at the user’s fingertips. A search across the Reaxys database delivers a single results set and each record provides details excerpted from multiple patent or journal sources. Offering a wealth of experimentally validated information, Reaxys brings a fresh look to synthetic chemistry with powerful functionality, combined content and relevant information.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Chemical Properties Data

NIST Data Webbook

Reaxys
If you search for a substance it will give you a wide variety of physical data, overlapping with the data you get from SciFinder Scholar. If you can't find the physical data you are looking for in one of these tools, it is worth it to try to search for this data using the other tools.
The merger of three prestigious databases puts all the relevant data at the user’s fingertips. A search across the Reaxys database delivers a single results set and each record provides details excerpted from multiple patent or journal sources. Offering a wealth of experimentally validated information, Reaxys brings a fresh look to synthetic chemistry with powerful functionality, combined content and relevant information.

Last Updated: Jul 3, 2024 12:11 PM
URL: https://researchguides.uic.edu/CHE396_397
Print Page

Tags: chemistry, course_guide, daley, engineering