Subject and Course Guides: Career Resources: Research a Company or Industry

Company Databases

There are many company databases. The descriptions will help you decide where to start.

D&B Hoovers
Good company and industry information. Includes public and private companies worldwide. Limited to 26 simultaneous users.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Formerly known as ReferenceUSA, this database offers instant, real-time access to in-depth information on millions of U.S businesses and consumers. Find jobs and business opportunities, locate companies nationwide, research business executives, view historical market trends, track down contact information, and discover news articles for research.
Mergent Online
Financial information on public US and international companies.
PrivCo
In-depth analysis for private companies. Users must sign up for an account using their UIC email address.
Winmo (formerly Redbooks)
Covers both advertising agencies and advertisers. For advertising agencies, gives basic company information, media specialties and list of clients. For advertisers, includes basic company information, products, where they advertise and advertising budgets.

Use these databases to find out about the industry your company is in.

Gartner Research
Gartner Research provides access to research and analysis on information technology (IT) technologies, practices, and strategies performed by the Gartner Group. The University of Illinois Administrative Information Technology Services subscribes to this database. Selected reports are available for students, faculty and staff of the University of Illinois.
Gartner Research contains research and analysis done by the Gartner Group that can be used for planning, decision making, and measurement purposes for making continual process improvements towards industry best practices. It does not include Dataquest documents nor special reports. Other information is only available by request to the University's Gartner representative. Individuals needing help accessing the content should contact the AITS Service Desk.
IBISWorld
Best industry database. Includes many specialized industries.
Since 1971 IBISWorld has provided thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information. It provides valuable insight into America’s 700+ industries. Users will need to create individual accounts to access some features of the resource.