Subject and Course Guides: Business and Economic History: Historical Economic Data

Websites

Resources for Economists on the Internet
This guide is sponsored by the American Economic Association. It lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics.
Federal Reserve Economic Data
An online database consisting of more than 55,000 economic data time series from 45 national, international, public, and private sources.
FRASER
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
US Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
National Bureau of Economic Research
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.

Library Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial ed.
Quantitative facts about American history. Provides downloadable data sets, with introductions and analysis by experts.
Historical Statistics of the U.S. (Millennial Edition, published 2006) presents quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, from earliest time to the present.
International Monetary Fund eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
Published by the World Bank. The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Published by World Bank
World Development Indicators Online (WDI) can be searched for more than 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups.

The Economist Historical Archive

Economist Historical Archive (1843 to 3 years ago)
The Economist has presented global news since 1843. The Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue from 1843 to 3 years ago as a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. May not be compatible with Firefox.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2008. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Business and Economic History: Historical Economic Data

Websites

Library Databases

The Economist Historical Archive

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library