Official Internal Medicine Boards Resources
- American Board of Internal MedicineProvides information on certification and renewal.
Individual Exam Prep Subscription Services
The following resources are individual subscription services for board prep. The UIC Library does not provide access to these materials. Please use the trial options to find the best service for you.
Internal Medicine Board Review Apps
- USMLE Internal Medicine Q & AThis app has a trial version or a subscription version which is $14.99 a month or a one time renewable annual fee of $49.99.
- Case Files Internal Medicine 6This free application includes 1 sample case study from the 60 that are available through an in-app purchase of $34.99 of Case Files Internal Medicine, Sixth Edition.
Free Question Banks
Internal Medicine Question Banks Available for Free
Many of the question banks that are available for purchase also offer a free trial or a free 'light' version.
- BoardVitalsSign up for free trial and get access to 900+ Internal Medicine Board Review Questions.
- StatPearlsFree Academic eLearning Management System with access to thousands of multiple choice and flashcard questions. Requires registration (free).
Internal Medicine Board Review E-Books
The Brigham Intensive Review of Internal Medicine Question and Answer Companion by
This question-and-answer companion to The Brigham Intensive Review of Internal Medicine, which is based upon the popular review course from Harvard Medical School, is a study guide for the American Board of Internal Medicine certification or maintenance of certification examination, as well asfor general practice review by physicians and residents. Editors Ajay K. Singh and Joseph Loscalzo recruited leading authorities from Harvard as well as former chief residents at Brigham and Women's Hospital to contribute to this book.This thorough resource features 500 board review questions and answers on internal medicine specialties including: Infectious Disease, Hematology and Oncology, Rheumatology, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, Endocrinology, Nephrology and Hypertension, Digestive Diseases and Disorders of thePancreas and Liver, Cardiovascular Disease, Neurology, and General Internal Medicine. As the required content for the American Board of Internal Medicine continues to evolve, studying can prove challenging. The Brigham Intensive Review of Internal Medicine Question and Answer Companion is the idealstudy guide for anyone preparing for certification or recertification.
ISBN: 9780199358496Publication Date: 2014-09-12
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
The Voice of Clinical ReasonHarrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and epidemiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
ISBN: 9781264268504Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Internal Medicine Board Review Books
Books Available in Print
First Aid for the Internal Medicine Boards, Fourth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The insider's guide to acing the internal medicine boards written by physicians who passed The perfect framework for score-boosting, time-efficient review, First Aid for the Internal Medicine Boards, Fourth Edition delivers the high-yield information, mnemonics, and visual aids necessary to excel on the exam. Following the proven First Aid formula for success, the book is carefully edited to include the content most likely to be included on the exam, allowing readers to focus on what they really need to know and maximize their study time. The Fourth Edition is distinguished by a renewed focus on high-yield content and has been updated to reflect the very latest treatment guidelines in internal medicine. Everything you need to get the score you want on the internal medicine boards: * A complete one-stop review of the most frequently tested topics * Rich full-color design for easier studying * Hundreds of revised high-yield tables, diagrams, and topics * Integrated vignette questions prepare you for what you will see on the actual exam * Insider tips and study strategies for outstanding performance * Key Facts in the margins reinforce must-know information * Mnemonics make learning and memorization fun, fast, and easy * Great as a refresher for recertification
Call Number: WB18.2 F526ISBN: 9781259835032Publication Date: 2017-10-19
Case Files Internal Medicine, Sixth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product REAL-LIFE CASES SHARPEN TOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS FOR YOUR CLERKSHIP AND THE SHELF EXAM Case Files: Internal Medicine presents realistic clinical scenarios to enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Sixty high-yield cases illustrate essential concepts in internal medicine. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. This updated sixth edition features a new format with bulleted summaries, shorter paragraphs, and clearer headings. New Cases on Metabolic Syndrome, Alcoholic Cirrhosis, Cushing Syndrome, Parkinson's Disease, Polycythemia Vera, and Opiate Overdose Realistic internal medicine cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Challenge Questions help you assess your ability to integrate and apply your knowledge Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Call Number: WB18.2 T756c 2021ISBN: 9781260469967Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Blueprints Medicine by
Now fully revised and updated, this best-selling Blueprints title is an ideal resource for your internal medicine clerkship, USMLE review, and as a rapid reference in day-to-day patient care. Practical and concise, it includes user-friendly features such as bolded key words, ample tables and figures, and the popular Key Points boxes, with must-know clinical information. The Sixth Edition has been thoroughly updated to include new clinical guidelines and therapeutic recommendations and includes 100 board-format questions and answers at the end of the book (plus 50 more online) for self-assessment. Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest developments in evidence-based medicine. Organized according to CDIM guidelines with updated content, tables, and figures. Emphasizes "must-know" information throughout, distilling the most important information in the end-of-chapter Key Points boxes. Chapters are consistently organized to provide high-yield content on major disorders, including epidemiology, etiology, risk factors, history, physical examination, differential diagnosis, and treatment. Includes 100 board-formatted questions and rationales for each choice, as well as 50 additional questions online.
Call Number: WB 18.2 Y78b 2016ISBN: 9781469864150Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Forums and 'Unofficial' Sites
Many blogs, discussion forums, and 'unofficial' websites exist for students preparing for boards. These types of resources can provide useful tips for studying but should be viewed with a critical eye. Specifically, blogs and forums represent personal accounts which can be useful and reassuring; however, we advise that you use caution when visiting them. The Library of the Health Sciences - Peoria does not monitor or endorse any of these resources.
- Student Doctor Network - Internal Medicine and IM Subspecialties ForumThis is a forum for Internal Medicine and IM Subspecialties from the Student Doctor Network, a non-profit organization. Question quality varies.
AccessMedicine
- AccessMedicineContains major Internal Medicine texts like:
• Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2018
• Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
• Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide