This list, maintained by Patrick Sahle, is an annotated catalog of sources for digital editions of texts online. Each source is linked and accompanied by a brief annotation. Browse by title, subject area, material, language, or epoch, or view a list of recommended editions.
A compilation of community-submitted and peer-edited articles devoted to data curation in the Digital Humanities. Included are articles on general topics such as "Standards" and "Policy, Practice & Law," as well as more specific topics such as "Classics and 'Digital Classics'."
The Digital Humanities Compendium provides a listing of likely sources for reputable scholarship and information relevant to digital humanities, including the personal websites of scholars, institutional sites, blogs, and other feeds.
Digital Humanities Now, produced by PressForward, aggregates and selects material from the Digital Humanities Compendium. It draws from hundreds of venues where high-quality digital humanities scholarship is likely to appear, including the personal websites of scholars, institutional sites, blogs, and other feeds. It aims to redefine scholarly communication as a process that begins with open publication on the web and leads to successive layers of review.
Run by the Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH), this site hosts a community-based forum for Q&A on a wide range of topics relating to digital humanities. The forum can be searched or browsed, offers a variety of RSS feeds, and sends out every question asked via Twitter in order to improve response time.
This playlist, collected by PhD student Greta Franzini (University College London) brings together some 80 different YouTube videos representing lectures, TEDTalks, interviews and other content relevant to DH-related topics, projects, tools, and more.
This page, a blog of U Texas' iSchool, is a helpful resource for information on DH and its use in educational settings. In addition to a reading list (featured on the Home page of this guide), Teaching DH also features a Resources page with links to DH sites/tools and a section of materials on evaluation in DH curricula.
This site, maintained by Dr Craig Bellamy of VeRSI in Melbourne, Australia, syndicates in real-time 100 (English-language) Digital Humanities blogs and related sites from around the world. Users may subscribe to the site's RSS feed or search its archive directly for topics discussed.
arts-humanities.net supports and advances the use and understanding of digital tools and methods for research and teaching in the arts and humanities by providing: information on projects creating and using digital content; tools and methods for creating/using digital resources; listings of relevant researchers and research centers; and a library documenting 'lessons learned.'
Digital Americanists is a scholarly society devoted to the study of American literature as combined with new media. It was founded in 2006 and maintains a blog and listserv for sharing of articles of interest, CFPs, etc. The society meets at the annual American Literature Association convention, and additionally sponsors scholarly panels at that convention and others in the field.
The Digital Classicist is a decentralised and international community of scholars and students interested in the application of innovative digital methods and technologies to research on the ancient world. Its main purpose is to offer a web-based hub for discussion, collaboration and communication.
This site is an online community for people involved in digital curation, whether they are students, teachers, researchers, or practitioners. It provides a forum for people to share questions and answers, examples of best practice, ideas, jobs, events, tools, and resources for all aspects of digital curation.
Digital Medievalist is an international web-based community for medievalists working with digital media. It was established in 2003 to help scholars meet the increasingly sophisticated demands faced by designers of contemporary digital projects. Digital Medievalist publishes an open access journal, sponsors conference sessions, runs an email discussion list and encourages best practice in digital medieval resource creation.
This page, maintained by Dr. Katherine Harris at San Jose State University, provides a comprehensive list of resources relating to the digital humanities, including reference readings, videos, podcasts, blogs, research centers, degree programs, archives and databases, tools, digital/hyper-literature, journals, listservs, organizations, resource lists, and research libraries.
European History Primary Sources is an index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. The index includes meta-sources as well as invented archives and born-digital sources. Each website has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
Intute is a free online service designed to help users find web resources for their studies and research. This particular section of the Intute website offers resources relevant to "humanities computing."
Digital Humanities Videos
A collection of of YouTube videos collected by Greta Franzini about the digital humanities.
Dan Cohen is an associate professor of History and Art History at George Mason University, and Director of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media. He aims to explore—and to influence through theory, software, websites, and his blog—the impact of computing on the humanities.
This blog is maintained by Lisa Spiro, director of NITLE Labs. It explores how digital resources and tools are affecting scholarship in the humanities, and considers their potential. Spiro reports on the ongoing conversation about digital scholarship as well as her own efforts to transform her dissertation into a piece of digital scholarship.
Administered by Shawn Graham, a Registered Professional Archaeologist in North America. This blog, part of Graham's larger website, concerns his interest in digital media for teaching, learning, and research in history and archaeology.
Greta Franzini is a PhD student in digital humanities at University College London, with an emphasis on digital paleography. Her blog chronicles her ongoing research in the field and efforts to create a digital edition of a manuscript of St. Augustine's De Civitate Dei; she also posts articles, events, projects and tools relevant to digital humanities, and writes about developments in the digital humanities generally.
Matthew Kirschenbaum is a professor of English at the University of Maryland, and Associate Director of the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities. His blog serves as a point for discussion and dissemination of his work, as well as for conversation about other works and developments in the digital humanities.
Melissa Terras is a Reader in Electronic Communication in the Department of Information Studies at University College London. This blog offers insight on her experiences in the fields of digital humanities and digital cultural heritage, and recent developments in these fields. She also offers some musings on academia.
Miriam Posner teaches in the Digital Humanities program at UCLA. Her blog collects interesting information on DH and relevant tools, and includes an extensive bibliography of digital humanities and the library (see the Journals & Articles page for a direct link to her bibliography).
Spellbound Blog is maintained by Jeanne Kramer-Smyth, an Electronic Records Archivist with the WorldBank's Library & Archives of Development. Kramer-Smyth uses her blog to discuss issues and events relating to archives, digital humanities, cultural heritage institutions and technology.
Both the blog and main website for the Stoa Consortium. Through this blog, the Stoa Consortium fulfills its major goals by disseminating news and announcements for digital classicists, encouraging discussion, and facilitating publication of experimental on-line projects in related areas.