Subject and Course Guides: Immigration: Federal and State Governments

U.S. Congress

Congressional Record
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress. This website covers the Congressional Record from 1994 to the present. The Congressional Record is updated daily when Congress is in session.
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. GPO Access contains Congressional Record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.

The current year’s Congressional Record database is usually updated daily by 11 a.m., except when a late adjournment delays production of the issue.

Congress.gov
Federal legislative information including bills and resolutions, activity in Congress, schedules and calendars, committee information, presidential nominations, treaties, and government resources.

U.S. Federal Agencies

Customs and Border Protection
Customs and Border Protection has a priority mission of keeping terrorists and their weapons out of the U.S. It also has a responsibility for securing and facilitating trade and travel and enforcing U.S. regulations, including immigration and drug laws.
Citizenship and Immigration Services
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services provides information to the public, grants immigration and citizenship benefits, promotes an awareness and understanding of citizenship, and maintains the U.S. immigration system.
Immigration and Customs Enforcement
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement is the principal investigative arm of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the second largest investigative agency in the federal government. It was created in 2003 through a merger of the investigative and interior enforcement elements of the U.S. Customs Service and the Immigration and Naturalization Service.

Federal Documents and Data

United States Constitution
The copy of the United States Constitution is from the National Archives website.
American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides data every year about communities. Each year, it surveys approximately 3,000,000 addresses in the United States about age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, disabilities, place of and transportation to work, and cost of living.
Immigration Statistical Yearbook
The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, a publication of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration law enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and prosecutions.
Immigration and Nationality Act
The Immigration and Nationality Act, or INA, was created in 1952. Before the INA, a variety of statutes governed immigration law but were not organized in one location. The McCarran-Walter bill of 1952, Public Law No. 82-414, collected and codified many existing provisions and reorganized the structure of immigration law. The Act has been amended many times over the years, but is still the basic body of immigration law.
The link above takes you to the current codification.
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, also known as "The Welfare Reform Act" represents the federal government's attempt to reform the welfare system by "encouraging" recipients to leave welfare and go to work, and by turning over primary responsibility for administering the welfare system to the states.

State Government Related Websites

National Conference of State Legislatures
The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance, and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on state issues. NCSL advocates for the interests of state governments before Congress and federal agencies. NCSL’s leadership is composed of legislators and staff from across the country.
Progressive States Network
Founded in 2005, Progressive States Network is an advocacy group that works for progressive state policies in workers rights, immigration, budget, health care, telecommunications, privatization, election reform, and other areas.
Stateline
Stateline is a nonpartisan, nonprofit news service of the Pew Center on the States. Since 1999, it has reported and analyzed trends in state policy.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Immigration: Federal and State Governments

U.S. Congress

U.S. Federal Agencies

Federal Documents and Data

State Government Related Websites

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library