Subject and Course Guides: Library/IT Assessment: 2011/2012

Electronic Resources

AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives offers access to primary source material from prior to 1900 that has been fully digitized and is full-text searchable UIC's subscription includes access to African-American newspapers, American county histories, Civil War primary source materials, Godey's Lady Book, The Liberator, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalgue, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record, South Carolina newspapers, and The Virginia Gazette.
UIC's subscription includes access to the following:

African American Newspapers, Parts 1-12S
The Christian Recorder
The Colored American/Weekly Advocate
Frederick Douglass’ Paper
Freedom’s Journal
The National Era
The North Star
Provincial Freeman
Civil War, Parts 1-4
Part I: A Newspaper Perspective
Part II: The Soldiers’ Perspective
Part III: The Generals’ Perspective
Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective
Part V. Iowa's Perspective
Part VI. Northeast Regimental Histories
Frank Leslie’s Weekly, Parts 1-14
Godey’s Lady’s Book, Parts 1-9
The Virginia Gazette, Parts 1-5
Women’s Suffrage (free)
Part I: The Lily
Part II: National Citizen and Ballot Box
Part III: The Revolution
AMA Manual of Style
The 10th edition of the American Medical Association Manual of Style online contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts.
ARTstor
Artstor contains over 2.5 million high-definition arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences images, rights-cleared for educational use, from a wide variety of contributors around the world. Mobile device users will not have full access to the database.

Note: Off campus users may need to login or register to view other collections.
Britannica Academic
Growing set of research tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Gateway to the Classics ; Quotable Quotes; Timelines and more.

Counseling and Therapy in Video I & II
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.

more... less...

Users can find videos of counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, interviews, teaching guides, and and others. Transcripts for many of the videos are searchable.
Dance In Video
Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.

more... less...

Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
Education in Video
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers.

more... less...

Content covers all ages from preschool to secondary school.
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior.

more... less...

The collection covers every region of the world and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum.

more... less...

Topics covered include: race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage from 1970 to the present.
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Also provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
IBISWorld
The country’s most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research Reports.
Since 1971 IBISWorld has provided thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information. It provides valuable insight into America’s 700+ industries. Users will need to create individual accounts to access some features of the resource.
Jazz Music Library
Now called Music Online: Listening. This resource is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. The collection allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a video journal for biological, medical, chemical and physical research.

JSTOR
Includes access to Biological Sciences Collection.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.

LearningExpress Library
Practice tests, including GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT and professional certifications, career and job search aids, and academic skills enhancement. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.

more... less...

Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want-at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.
Nursing Education in Video
Online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.

more... less...

This collection features videos created by Medcom-Trainex with searchable transcripts.
Opera In Video
Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

more... less...

The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
The Roper Center is the world's largest archives of public opinion information. UIC users have access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys using RoperExpress. The databank itself, iPOLL, is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935.

Springer Images
Anatomical images derived from the Current Medicine series of illustrated atlases. Formerly called ImagesMD.

more... less...

Springer Images/Images.MD compiles over 50,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s renowned series of illustrated atlases.

American History In Video
American History in Video provides the largest collection of video available online for the study of American history. Includes captions and transcripts.
The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Theatre In Video
Theatre In Video contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.

more... less...

This resource covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history, including live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, as well as important contemporary performances.

Transportation Research Information Service (TRIS)
World's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic database on transportation information and research.
TRIS is produced by the National Research Council's Transportation Research Board (TRB). TRANWeb and TRIS are related and there is some overlap but many items in TRANWeb are not found in TRIS and vice versa.

World History in Video
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.

more... less...

Included in World History in Video are many of the documentaries covering topics in the following areas: world history, ancient history, Western civilization, European history, regional history, and documentary film from independent providers

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Library/IT Assessment: 2011/2012

Electronic Resources

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library