Subject and Course Guides: Epidemiology and Health Statistics: Illinois Data Sources

IL State Agencies

Listing of IL agencies with links to potential databases
IDPH Health Regions & Local Health Departments
Map of Illinois Health Departments
Data Illinois
State of Illinois data portal.

Create Your Own Maps or Reports

Cook County Connect
Demographic data for Cook County. Includes geospacial data and well as ESRI Business Analyst.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an data and mapping tool for accessing data about communities across the U.S. to make better-informed decisions without any prior experience.
SimplyAnalytics
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data, the PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, and the Community Lifestages dataset. The CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created.

To save your searches, you need to sign up for an account using your UIC email address.

Access restricted to 5 concurrent users.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

Note: Social Explorer has developed a new libguide. To see the new libguide, you can go this link here
Key content in Social Explorer includes: over 40 billion data elements, 200,000 variables; 18,000 interactive maps; the entire US Census from 1790 to the present as it is available; annual updates from the American Community Survey; InfoGroup data on religious congregations; Religious Congregations and Membership Study; and Carbon Emissions Data. Users can create custom maps, download data, and export, save, and print maps and reports.

Local IL Statistics

Center for Rural Health
Provides information on the state of Illinois having physician and/or Federal health professional shortage areas.
City of Chicago Community Area Health Inventories
See listings under Supporting Information.
Cook County Community Health Data
Illinois Department of Public Health Data & Statistics
Illinois Public Health Community Map
State Health Facts Online
A versitile site from the Kaiser Family Fountation that allows comparisions of the 50 U.S. states plus U.S. territories in a variety of demographic categories, health status, health coverage, etc. Minority & Women's health are also special topics. Information can be displayed as bar graphs, tables, or color-coded maps. States can be compared to the national average or to all states.
State Snapshots (AHRQ)
more...less...
This web site has gives state specific information from 2006 onward on overall health care quality. The information for each state shows the strengths and weaknesses and suggestions for improvement in areas such as Acute, Chronic, and Preventive Care, Settings of Care such as Hospitals and Nursing Homes, and more.

Community Statistics Resources

Lewis Mumford Center
In the Center, the University at Albany Visualization and Informatics Lab (AVAIL) is conducting research for federal, state, and regional agencies (e.g., US Department of Transportation (USDOT), Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), New York Metropolitan Transportation Council (NYMTC)).
National Neighborhoods Indicators Partnership
The National Neighborhood Indicators Partnership (NNIP) is a collaborative effort by the Urban Institute and local partners to further the development and use of neighborhood-level information systems in local policymaking and community building.
Community Health Rankings & Roadmaps
This collection of 50 reports – one per state – provides information ranging from individual health behaviors, education and jobs, to quality of health care, to the environment. These reports show data from a state's counties and cities. Sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
City Health Dashboard
Our goal is to provide communities and city leaders with an array of regularly updated data specific to neighborhood and/or city boundaries – such as life expectancy, park access, and children in poverty -- to improve the health and well-being of everyone in the community.
more...less...
With support from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the City Health Dashboard launched in 2018, now offering data on over 40 measures of health and drivers of health for over 900 cities across the U.S. – all cities over population 50,000 plus a growing set of smaller places. We're committed to constant improvement, over the years adding new measures and features, including multi-year data, new data visualizations, and easier data access through an API.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Epidemiology and Health Statistics

IL State Agencies

Create Your Own Maps or Reports

Local IL Statistics

Community Statistics Resources

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library