These databases can be accessed by
anyone from the Library of the Health Sciences or elsewhere on the UIC
campus. Access from other locations is limited to UIC students, faculty,
and staff who have a valid netID and password.
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.
EMBASE is an abstract and indexing database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. It currently contains more than 15 million records from Excerpta Medica Database (1974 to present) and selected Medline records (1966-present). Currently the Library does not own the archives of Embase from 1947 to 1973.
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences