Design Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Blacks Who DesignA Twitter directory of accomplished Black designers in the industry
- International Encyclopedia of Art and Design EducationCovers historical and contemporary art and design education topics. Written in conjunction with the National Society for Education in Art and Design.
- The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design. From Credo Reference.
- The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and DesignersComprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design, from pre-industrial printing presses to computer graphics. Entries cover technical terms, artistic movements, media, advertising, corporate identity, posters, packaging, and magazine and book design. From Credo Reference.
- Design dictionary: perspectives on design terminologyInternational coverage. Ebook from Springer.
Reference Collections with Design resources
- Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford (formerly Grove) Dictionary of Art Online plus image links cross-referenced to art galleries and museums. Access doesn't include Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Design History - Overviews
Meggs' History of Graphic Design, Fifth Edition by Publication Date: 2011Innovators, technologies, and developments in the history of graphic design. Topics range from invention of writing and alphabets, origins of printing and typography, to web, multimedia, and interactive design. Over 1,400 high-quality images.
Ebook from ProQuest Ebook Central.
An Introduction to Design and Culture, 3rd Edition by Publication Date: 2013NOTE: UIC email address required for access.
100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design by Publication Date: 2012100 entries in broadly chronological order covering the technical and stylistic, and objects and methods. From Credo Reference.
The A-Z of modern design by Call Number: NK1390 .D8513 2006Industrial design and design history.
Daley Library - 4th floor Book Stacks
