BrowZine
What Databases Do You Use Most?
RefWorks
Journal Collections
- American Society for MicrobiologyJournal publications of American Society for Microbiology (ASM). Note: full access includes all journals exept Genome Announcements .
- EDP Sciences
Journal publications from EDP Sciences. Includes Annales de Physique.
Or search for Journals By Title.
Main Biological Sciences Databases
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- ScienceDirect
A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal. Includes captions and transcripts.
Note: to create a JoVE test for a video, you need to create an account and then register as either a professor or student. Then you need to click confirm under Newsletter to complete the registration. - PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH)
- CNKIChina Academic Journals Full-text Database (also known as CAJ) is the largest continuously updated Chinese journals database in China. It has collected more than 8,000 titles with full-text articles since 1994. Has content on mathematics, physics, mechanics, astronomy, chemistry, environmental sciences, agriculture, medicine, public health, technology and other fields.
Documentaries & Other Multimedia
- Environmental Issues OnlineA ProQuest collection of multiple sources types that focus on environmental challenges, including: video, audio, archival and and primary sources
- Docuseek2Docuseek 2 is a platform for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films. It provides access to over 750 documentaries covering a wide variety of subjects including social issues, sustainability, the environment, and many more. Includes captions.
- Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy provides students access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable. If you are a faculty member who needs a film activated for a class, please use the request form in Kanopy. Please include the class name and number, and the date the film is needed.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) Science Education VideosDirect link to JoVE Science Education videos.
Note: to create a JoVE test for a video, you need to create an account and then register as either a professor or student. Then you need to click confirm under Newsletter to complete the registration.
Additional Biology & Multidisciplinary Databases
- Annual ReviewsAnnual summations of research in 40 disciplines in scientific, technological and social sciences.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Big Ten Academic Alliance
Provides downloadable doctoral dissertations originating from universities in the Big Ten conference from 1997 to present. More dissertations from other North American and European universities are available for preview and individual purchase.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal. Includes captions and transcripts.
Note: to create a JoVE test for a video, you need to create an account and then register as either a professor or student. Then you need to click confirm under Newsletter to complete the registration. - JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- SciTech ConnectSciTech Connect is a consolidation of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database, incorporating all the R&D info from these two products into one search interface.
- The ScientistArticles and multimedia features dedicated to the latest developments in cell and molecular biology, genetics, and other life-science fields.
- Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown UniversitySearch resources from the Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University.
- Wiley Current Protocols
Current Protocols provides online editions of laboratory manuals in chemistry, life sciences, and medicine and healthcare. To ensure easy duplication in any lab, the protocols are thoroughly field tested and scrutinized by our editorial boards. Titles are updated quarterly to reflect the latest innovations in laboratory procedures as they occur.
- AGRICOLA
Agricola presents over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, theses, patents, software, and technical reports related to agriculture from 1979 to the present.
- Wiley Digital ArchivesWiley Digital Archives is an ongoing initiative to partner with the world’s leading societies, libraries and archives to digitize the unique and rare primary sources that tell the story behind the contemporary research content we publish today. Our archival collections include:
Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI)
New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS) - Wiley Online Library
Platform for searching across all Wiley journals, online books from 2005-2011, and Current Protocols laboratory manuals.
- World Scientific JournalsAn international publisher of over 120 journals in science, technology and medicine.