The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
The Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. They compile and disseminate global statistical information and develop standards and norms for statistical activities.
The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports. Each of the listings includes a description of the data source and a direct link to that source. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search.
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, are available.
CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, & information sciences, and specializes in on-line data & information management, spatial data integration and training, & interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment
The CGIAR-CSI GeoPortal is able to provide SRTM 90m Digital Elevation Data for the entire world. The SRTM digital elevation data, produced by NASA originally, is a major breakthrough in digital mapping of the world, and provides a major advance in the accessibility of high quality elevation data for large portions of the tropics and other areas of the developing world.
The World Values Survey (www.worldvaluessurvey.org) is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life, led by an international team of scholars, with the WVS association and secretariat headquartered in Stockholm, Sweden.
GEM provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries.
Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances. All data sets are updated each weekday to capture the latest available observations.
Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies (data from Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases). Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2015, for most reporting countries, and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2023.
The ISDC houses approximately 1000 data sets including national sample surveys, local studies, census micro-data and government records in selected fields as well as macro-economic and regional series. Several databases are available through the Web.