Librarian
801 S. Morgan St.
2-131 LIB
Chicago, IL 60607
Online Data Sources through UIC Library
UIC provides access to several excellent sources for finding data, some of these are related to specific studies, some are regular research processes.
- ICPSR : Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social ResearchArchives of social science data for research and instruction.
- SimplyAnalytics
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data, the PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, and the Community Lifestages dataset. The CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created.
To save your searches, you need to sign up for an account using your UIC email address.
Access restricted to 5 concurrent users. - PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an data and mapping tool for accessing data about communities across the U.S. to make better-informed decisions without any prior experience.
- Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Note: Social Explorer has developed a new libguide. To see the new libguide, you can go this link here - StatistaFind statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchProvided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsFormerly known as ReferenceUSA, this database offers instant, real-time access to in-depth information on millions of U.S businesses and consumers. Find jobs and business opportunities, locate companies nationwide, research business executives, view historical market trends, track down contact information, and discover news articles for research.
- iPOLLDatasets of opinion polls conducted in the U.S. from 1935 to the present. See also Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.