Subject and Course Guides: French and Francophone Studies: French 213

Finding resources

Depending on your topic, you may want to use one of the following databases. If you're researching a historical topic, Historical Abstracts, JSTOR, or Google Scholar might be helpful. For research on works of art, films, etc. try the MLA International Bibliography in addition to JSTOR, Project Muse, and Google Scholar. For any topic, you should also try searching the search box on the library's homepage.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.

Note: to watch the video on how to search, go to MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
Historical Abstracts
Historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Published since 1954, this database has long been recognized as among the leading bibliographies for historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Project Muse
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Project MUSE® offers more than 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Library search
Use this search to discover books and articles that the library has in its collection. You can also find books available in other I-Share libraries.

MLA International Bibliography How-To

This is a short video which introduces the MLA International Bibliography to find sources on French literature and film. It also includes how to use interlibrary loan if we don't have access to an article.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

French and Francophone Studies

Finding resources

MLA International Bibliography How-To

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library