Databases for Political Research
- PAIS Index (1914 - current) - see also: Public Affairs Information Service International
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
- GenderWatchFocuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1909 - current)
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
Landmark Cases
The cases below are some of the landmark holdings that affect LGBTQ rights in the United States.
- Lawrence v. Texas via OyezPRIMARY HOLDING
A Texas law criminalizing consensual, sexual conduct between individuals of the same sex violates the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. - Obergefell v. Hodges via OyezPRIMARY HOLDING
Under the Fourteenth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution, all states must license a marriage between two people of the same sex and recognize such a marriage if it was lawfully licensed and performed in another state. - One, Incorporated, v. Olesen via JustiaPRIMARY HOLDING
Speech in favor of homosexuals is not inherently obscene. - Romer v. Evans via OyezPRIMARY HOLDING
Under the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, a state cannot amend its constitution to deny homosexuals the same basic legal protections that heterosexuals receive. - R.G. & G.R. Harris Funeral Homes Inc. v. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission via OyezPRIMARY HOLDING
An employer who fires an individual employee merely for being gay or transgender violates Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.
LGBTQ in Federal Law
Links below are some of the more prominent examples of LGBTQ protections in federal government policy.
- Electronic Code of Federal RegulationsThe Code of Federal Regulations governs the behavior of Federal Agencies, searches within this for "gender identity", "transgender status" bring up relevant regulations in different departments.
- Executive Order 14021Executive Order 14021- "Guaranteeing an Educational Environment Free From Discrimination on the Basis of Sex, Including Sexual Orientation or Gender Identity" extends Title IX protections to Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity.
- Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, commonly referred to as Title IX(20 U.S.C. § 1681 - 1688), governs educational discrimination on the base of sex.
- Title VII of the Civil Rights ActTitle VII of the Civil Rights Act (42 U.S.C. § 2000e.) prohibits employment discrimination and includes language about discrimination base on gender, sexual orientation and gender identity.
- Executive Order 13988Executive Order 13988 "Preventing and Combating Discrimination on the Basis of Gender Identity or Sexual Orientation" enforces protections related to employment related to gender identity and sexual orientation and extends Title VII protections.
- Executive Order 14075Executive Order 14075 "Advancing Equality for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Intersex Individuals" aims to address harmful local and state laws and policies.
LGBTQ in State Laws
State laws have a wide variety of policies related to gender expression, sexuality and gender identity. There is no central place to search these, but there are some guides that show all the different places to search.
Administrative Codes are likely the best place to search for official policies, as laws that regulate the performance and behavior of state agencies are generally codified in state administrative codes. These may use different terminology, but are the most likely place to find official state policies.
- Administrative Codes for All 50 StatesThis Guide from the Franklin County Law Library has links to Resources from all 50 States.
- GODORT list of state databasesIntroduction
In every US State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases of useful information - information on businesses, licensed professionals, plots of land, even dates of fish stocking. Some of this content is available on search engines, but much of it is part of the invisible web. Since July 2007, librarians and other government information specialists have been working on identifying and annotating these databases in one place.
Librarian
801 S. Morgan St.
2-131 LIB
Chicago, IL 60607