Subject and Course Guides: Police Brutality & Racism: Statistics &amp; Data

Criminal Justice Data & Legislation

The sites below provide statistics, data, and legislation about on criminal justice institutions, human and civil rights violations, and violence against Black, Indigenous, and People of Color.

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics
This web site has statistics about crime and statistics, criminal offenders, law enforcement, and expenditure and employment.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Affiliated with the University of Michigan, most of the data requires a registration with NACJD, but some data is available to anyone. Two interesting subsets are the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods and the Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
NCJRS offers a range of services and resources, balancing the information needs of the field with the technological means to receive and access support. The following highlights a number of NCJRS services and resources.

Mapping Police Violence
Law enforcement agencies across the country have failed to provide us with even basic information about the lives they have taken. And while the recently signed Death in Custody Reporting Act mandates this data be reported, its unclear whether police departments will actually comply with this mandate and, even if they do decide to report this information, it could be several years before the data is fully collected, compiled and made public. Meticulously sourced from the three largest, most comprehensive and impartial crowdsourced databases on police killings in the country: FatalEncounters.org, the U.S. Police Shootings Database and KilledbyPolice.net, with extensive original research on social media, in obituaries, criminal records databases, police reports and other sources to identify the race of 90 percent of all victims in the database.
Citizens Police Data Project
Collects and publishes information about police misconduct in Chicago
Chicago Police Department - Reform
Updates and initiatives from CPD on Reform Progress, Policy and Training, Reform in the News, Community Policing, the Road to Reform, Technology, Resources & Supervision.
Cook County State's Attorney
With more than 700 attorneys and more than 1,100 employees, the Cook County State's Attorney's Office is the second largest prosecutor's office in the nation. The Office is responsible for the prosecution of all misdemeanor and felony crimes committed in Cook County, and files legal actions to enforce child support orders, litigate to protect consumers and the elderly from exploitation, and assist thousands of victims of sexual assault and domestic violence each year. The State’s Attorney also serves as legal counsel for the government of Cook County.
Office of Inspector General, City of Chicago
Data on public safety, City budgets, and City employees.
Laws of Illinois (digital resource)
Western Illinois University Libraries and Illinois State Library have digitized many volumes of the Laws of Illinois.
more...less...
Some volumes are also available through Google Books and the Hathi Trust Digital Library. In most cases, the text of individual volumes can be searched. Indexes to the Laws of Illinois have been digitized by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and the Illinois State Library.
Ending Racial Profiling in America (Senate Hearing)
Hearing before the Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights and Human
Rights of the Committee on the Judiciary. United States Senate. 112th Congress, 2nd Session. April 17, 2012.

ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest Congressional Publications includes Congressional hearings, reports, and documents and the U.S. Serials Set and the American State Papers as well as the Congressional Record and its predecessors. Coverage begins in 1789 and is most complete through 1969. See also U.S. Congressional Serials Set.
ProQuest Congressional Publications (1789-1969) is an collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set does not normally include the text of debates, bills, resolutions, hearings, and committee prints, unless specifically ordered to be included by Congress. Specifically, this collection contains, retrospectively, up to 180 years of the following types of publications:

Congressional journals, and administrative reports, directories, manuals, and related internal publications.
Annually submitted reports from Federal executive agencies reviewing current problems and activities under agency purview.
Extended series of survey, research and statistical publications developed by executive agencies.
Selected annual or special reports of nongovernmental agencies.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, surveys, research and statistical series published by Congress and Federal executive agencies; compiled under directive of the Congress.
The U.S. Congressional Serials Set (1789-1969) is an collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set does not normally include the text of debates, bills, resolutions, hearings, and committee prints, unless specifically ordered to be included by Congress. Specifically, this collection contains, retrospectively, up to 180 years of the following types of publications:

Congressional journals, and administrative reports, directories, manuals, and related internal publications.
Annually submitted reports from Federal executive agencies reviewing current problems and activities under agency purview.
Extended series of survey, research and statistical publications developed by executive agencies.
Selected annual or special reports of nongovernmental agencies.

Includes the following collections:
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Maps Digital Collection
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part A 1970-1979
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part B 1980-1989
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part C 1990-2003
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part D 2004-2010

Amnesty International
Global Human Rights organization involved in campaigns against war, torture, suppression of dissent, authoritarianism, and terrorism for more than 50 years
UN Office of the High Commission on Human Rights
Leading UN entity on human rights. The General Assembly entrusted both the High Commissioner and her Office with a unique mandate to promote and protect all human rights for all people. The United Nations human rights programme aims to ensure that the protection and enjoyment of human rights is a reality in the lives of all people. UN Human Rights also plays a crucial role in safeguarding the integrity of the three interconnected pillars of the United Nations – peace and security, human rights and development.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Police Brutality & Racism

Social data & polls

Criminal Justice Data & Legislation

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library