Skip to Main Content

Online Learning Resources : Finding OER

Best practices to sharing library resources in online learning environments.

OER Centralized Searching

These search engines are a great place to start your OER search, especially if you're not tied to textbooks. They search across a variety of OER collections, databases, and repositories to make your search a bit easier. 

OASIS

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 98 different sources and contains 368,234 records. Created by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)

Provides a simultaneous search across 20 different sources of open educational materials. Created by George Mason University.

Open Textbooks

open textbook library logo The Open Textbook Library includes textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
open stax logo Openstax offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers.​

MILNE Open Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries.
BCcampus Open Education offers a collection of hundreds of open textbooks created by faculty at academic institutions in British Columbia.

Collection of open books and textbooks from a variety of sources.

Open textbooks for the 40 highest enrolled first- and second-year subject areas in the British Columbia's public, post-secondary system.​

A collection of expertly developed educational materials – including textbooks, syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments – in 81 high-enrollment college courses

​

OER Repositories

OER Commons logo

OER Commons, or Open Educational Resources Commons contains full courses, modules, syllabi, lectures, homework assignments, quizzes, lab activities, pedagogical materials, games, simulations, and more.
MERLOT logo

Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a free online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education. Most, but not all, Merlot resources are Creative Commons licensed.
Teaching Commons logo Teaching Commons brings together OER that have been curated by librarians at colleges and universities throughout the US.
Image result for libretexts logo LibreTexts contains course shells, textbooks, interactive models, laboratory experiments, and ancillary materials.
PressBooks Directory Features more than 6,000 open textbooks published on the Pressbooks platform.