Why are some library subscriptions being cancelled?
In June of this year, university administration asked the library to plan for a permanent 5% cut to state funding to the library, with the possibility of more to come. Although effort was taken to minimize the impact of these budget cuts, it has been necessary to restructure spending for some collections subscriptions, cancel others, and reduce spending overall for one-time discretionary purchases such as books and ebooks.
What are the largest impacts on library collections?
The largest impact is on the university’s Read and Publish subscription to Wiley journals, which provides reading access to Wiley’s journal portfolio while also granting UIC affiliates the ability to publish open access free of charge in Wiley hybrid journals. Earlier this spring, the library announced that it would be undertaking a review of large journal package subscriptions, with the goal to find cost savings by moving from a large bundled subscription to a title-by-title subscription that prioritizes the most essential journals. We anticipate that this careful process will allow us to save 40% of the current cost while retaining access to 85% of used content. For more information, see the FAQ on changes to the library’s journal subscriptions and the list of cancellations.
How were these library collections decisions made?
The key factor that was considered when evaluating resources was value to the university measured in terms of cost and local usage. However, we also consider all decisions holistically, taking into account the purpose of the resource, the likely impact of cancellation, and availability of alternative resources.
Is the library still purchasing books?
Yes, the library will continue to acquire books in print and online that are relevant to the UIC community. However, funds will be concentrated on meeting immediate needs rather than “just in case” purchases for hypothetical future use. We will do this by relying more on requests from students and faculty and by shifting money to ebook packages that maximize access but link costs directly to usage. Faculty are encouraged to use the library webform to recommend an item for purchase.
A resource that I rely on has been cancelled. What are my options?
The library will continue to offer quick, free interlibrary loans for journal articles and books. Article PDFs are generally delivered within 1-2 days and books are generally delivered within 1-2 weeks.
The university is dealing with ongoing budget challenges, including threats to federal research funding. Are additional cuts being considered to library collections?
Unfortunately, yes. If there are additional reductions to the collections budget, other large cancellations will have to be considered, including databases such as Scopus, Web of Science, and Reaxys, as well as further reductions to spending on books and ebooks. The process of unbundling the Wiley journal package has shown that we can yield considerable cost savings while maintaining access to the most essential journals, so in 2026 we will investigate the same process with other large journal packages, such as Springer and Elsevier.
Who can I contact with questions or concerns?
You can contact Carl Lehnen, Head of Collections at the University Library, clehnen@uic.edu, or the subject librarian for your department or college.
November 10, 2025