Subject and Course Guides: HIST 400: Topics in Ancient History: Reference Sources & Scholarly Articles

Online databases for Classics

Annee Philologique

L'Année philologique online is the digital version of L'Année philologique, a database published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, in collaboration with the Society for Classical Studies (founded as the American Philological Association).

Climate Change and History Research Initiative
This interdisciplinary project investigates the impact of climatic changes across the last two millennia on societies in the eastern Mediterranean basin and eastern Eurasian steppe. The main foci of the project are (1) the differential impacts of climate and environmental change on complex societies and state formation and (2) the impact of human society and polities on the environment.
Initiative for the Science of the Human Past (Harvard)
A supra-departmental, cross-divisional and inter-school network that brings historians and archaeologists together with other scholars and scientists to chart bold new answers to the age-old question: what is history?

JSTOR

Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.

Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Project Muse

Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Project MUSE® offers more than 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries with emphasis on Literature and Western Civilization . Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Perseus Digital Library

Classical studies, English renaissance collection, including the works of Wm. Shakespeare; 19th century American history sources; Germanic materials.

Primary and secondary sources on the classical and Ptolemaic Greco-Roman world; English Renaissance collection, including the works of Wm. Shakespeare; 19th century American history sources; Germanic materials;
Richmond Times Dispatch (1860-1865);
images of coins, vases, sculptures, paintings, archaeological sites, and buildings.

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (E-Book)
ISBN: 9780195300826

Covers all subject areas in the classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, and more.
Brill's New Pauly Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Call Number: REF DE5 .N3513 2002

ISBN: 9004122591

Important 15-volume encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome. Located in the Reference Section on the second floor of Daley.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
Call Number: REF PA2361 .T4

Multi-volume Latin dictionary. Ongoing publication. Located in Reference section on 2nd floor of Daley