Websites
International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare
The International Journal of Evidence-based Healthcare published a special methodological issue on methods for systematic review. Approaches discussed include intervention reviews, qualitative, prevalence/incidence, diagnostic test accuracy, economic evaluations, scoping and mixed methods reviews. All articles are free to access.
Systematic Searching Videos
In the spring of 2024, UIC health sciences librarians did a recorded webinar series on systematic review topics.
Covered content included:
- Overview of Literature Reviews
- What's a Protocol and How Do You Use It?
- An Introduction to Scoping Reviews
- Considerations for Systematic Review Project Documentation
- Basics of Building a Search Strategy: Creating an Initial Search in PubMed
- Basics of Building a Search Strategy: Translating Searches to Other Databases
- Grey literature searching: Trial registries, working papers, and more
- Systematic Reviews in the Classroom: Considerations for Assigning Evidence Synthesis,
- All About PRISMA
- Standards/guidelines - What is Cochrane and Joanna Briggs
- Introduction to Covidence: A Powerful Systematic Review Tool
- Deduplicating your records: Overview of decisions, process, and tools
- Citation searching: An essential step in your review
Carnegie Mellon University: Free and Open Course on Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis
Reading List
- Zotero Library: Readings on Review MethodologyPublic group library in Zotero citation manager; contains references for readings on review methodology, standards and guidelines
- Literature Review Methodologies: A Bibliography.PDF format; contains all references used in UIC Library's webinar on June 8, 2021.
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing by ISBN: 0826152252Publication Date: 2022
Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews by Call Number: W84.3 I5925f 2011ISBN: 0309164257Publication Date: 2011-07-04Institute of Medicine
E-book available to UIC users.
Also available at: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK209518/
Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by Call Number: W84.1 C663 2008ISBN: 9780470699515Publication Date: 2008-11-24E-book available to UIC users.
How to Do a Systematic Review in Nursing: A Step by Step Guide by Call Number: Wy20.5 B565h 2012ISBN: 0335242278Publication Date: 2012Book available to UIC users.
Synthesizing Qualitative Research by Call Number: W20.5 S993 2012ISBN: 9780470656389Publication Date: 2012-01-17
Systematic Reviews in Health Care by Call Number: W20.5 S995 1995ISBN: 0727909045Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Systematic Reviews in Health Care by Call Number: W20.5 S9953 2001ISBN: 9780727914880Publication Date: 2001-03-05E-book available to UIC users.
Systematic Reviews: synthesis of best evidence for health care decisions by Call Number: W20.5 S9955 1998ISBN: 0943126665Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Understanding Health Care Outcomes Research by Call Number: W84.1 U55 2006ISBN: 0763734411Publication Date: 2005-10-04
Doing a Systematic Review: A Student's Guide by Call Number: WZ 345 D657 2017ISBN: 9781473967014Publication Date: 2017-11-23
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by ISBN: 9781119536611Publication Date: 2019-09-23Guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review. Contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions.
How to perform a systematic literature review : a guide for healthcare researchers, practitioners and students by ISBN: 9783030496722Publication Date: 2020Practical guidance is provided on the fundamentals of systematic reviewing and also on advanced techniques such as meta-analysis. Examples are given in each chapter, with a succinct glossary to support the text. This up-to-date, accessible textbook will satisfy the needs of students, practitioners and educators in the sphere of healthcare, and contribute to improving the quality of evidence-based practice.
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by ISBN: 9781849201803Publication Date: 2012-04-04Provides an overview of the nature, logic, diversity and process of undertaking systematic reviews as part of evidence informed decision making. Covers the full breadth of approaches to reviews from statistical meta analysis to meta ethnography. It is ideal for anyone undertaking their own systematic review - providing all the necessary conceptual and technical background needed to make a good start on the process. The content is divided into five clear sections: * Approaches to reviewing * Getting started * Gathering and describing research * Appraising and synthesising data * Making use of reviews/models of research use.
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences by ISBN: 9780470754887Publication Date: 2008-01-11This book, written by two highly-respected social scientists, provides an overview of systematic literature review methods: Outlining the rationale and methods of systematic reviews; Giving worked examples from social science and other fields; Applying the practice to all social science disciplines; It requires no previous knowledge, but takes the reader through the process stage by stage; Drawing on examples from such diverse fields as psychology, criminology, education, transport, social welfare, public health, and housing and urban policy, among others. Including detailed sections on assessing the quality of both quantitative, and qualitative research; searching for evidence in the social sciences; meta-analytic and other methods of evidence synthesis; publication bias; heterogeneity; and approaches to dissemination.
Systematic Reviews in Educational Research Methodology, Perspectives and Application by ISBN: 3658276029Publication Date: 2020In this open access edited volume, international researchers of the field describe and discuss the systematic review method in its application to research in education. Alongside fundamental methodical considerations, reflections and practice examples are included and provide an introduction and overview on systematic reviews in education research.
How to Read a Paper by ISBN: 9781119484745Publication Date: 2019-05-06A clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature.
Meta-Analysis Reading List
- Catalog and Consortia search for Meta-Analysis ResourcesThis is a catalog search of resources (books, dissertations, journals, and conference proceedings) held by UIC or our consortial partners on the subject of Meta-analyses.
Selected Books (online and print)
Introduction to Meta-Analysis by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1119964377Publication Date: 2011-08-24Introduction to Meta-Analysis: Outlines the role of meta-analysis in the research process. Shows how to compute effects sizes and treatment effects. Explains the fixed-effect and random-effects models for synthesizing data. Demonstrates how to assess and interpret variation in effect size across studies. Clarifies concepts using text and figures, followed by formulas and examples. Explains how to avoid common mistakes in meta-analysis. Discusses controversies in meta-analysis.
Meta-analysis : methods for health and experimental studies by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9811550328Publication Date: 2020This book focuses on performing hands-on meta-analysis using MetaXL, a free add-on to MS Excel. The illustrative examples are taken mainly from medical and health sciences studies, but the generic methods can be used to perform meta-analysis on data from any other discipline. The book adopts a step-by-step approach to perform meta-analyses and interpret the results.
Publication Bias in Meta-Analysis by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0470870168Publication Date: 2006-05-05Publication Bias in Meta-Analysis examines the different types of publication bias, and presents the methods for estimating and reducing publication bias, or eliminating it altogether.
Meta-Study of Qualitative Health Research by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0761924159Publication Date: 2001-06-01In this book, Volume 3 of the Methods in Nursing Research series, Barbara Paterson and colleagues provide step-by-step directions for how to proceed in conducting a meta-study, as well as recommendations for tools and standards relating to the application of their approach. Drawing from their experience with meta-study research projects on chronic illness, the authors articulate and theorize the meta-analysis and meta-synthesis of qualitatively derived knowledge.
Meta-Analysis of Controlled Clinical Trials by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1280270012Publication Date: 2003-01-01This book describes the planning, conduct and reporting of a meta-analysis as applied to a series of randomized controlled clinical trials.
* The various approaches are presented within a general unified framework.
* Meta-analysis techniques are described in detail, from their theoretical development through to practical implementation.
* Each topic discussed is supported by detailed worked examples.
* A comparison of fixed and random effects approaches is included, as well as a discussion of Bayesian methods and cumulative meta-analysis. *
