There are a few ways to ask the Special Collections and University Archives for help:
**The Special Collections and University Archives reading rooms in Daley Library and Library of the Health Sciences will be closed to researchers beginning Tuesday, March 17, until further notice. Special Collections librarians and staff will be available to help with virtual reference questions through Ask A Librarian. Please note that response times will be longer due to staffing issues.**
The Special Collections and University Archives Department at the Richard J. Daley Library and the Library of Health Sciences-Chicago houses collections of rare books, manuscripts, maps and photographs. Particular strengths in the collections at Daley Library are in the social, political and cultural history of Chicago. The collections at the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago document Chicago's rich history as a center for the education and practice of the medical arts. The University Archives is the depository for historical records of the University of Illinois at Chicago. The University Archives also contains selected papers of prominent faculty, alumni, and administrative staff.
We can help you with the following research-related activities:
We're pleased announce a preview of the new search system for UIC finding aids. You can use this system to discover resources in Special Collections and University Archives by searching for your topic or by browsing popular topics. See How to search Special Collections and University Archives finding aids for search tips.
The Special Collections and University Archives Department at the UIC Libraries house archival records of individuals and organizations that document the political, social and cultural history of Chicago, with a focus on the 20th and 21st centuries. The strengths of the manuscript collections include the history of the Hull-House settlement; A Century of Progress World's Fair; Chicago design history; Midwest women's history; and the history of African Americans in Chicago. Collections containing information about the history of medicine can be found in the Special Collections and University Archives Department at the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago.