The majority of published scientific research you have access to at UIC is in English. Below I list ways to find scientific information published in other languages. If you have questions about finding more resources or information in a specific language email me (Cathy Lantz, clantz@uic.edu)
Access 600+ databases through UIC Library to find and read research articles. Many of them have either translate features or articles published in non-English languages. Many databases, including Web of Science, has a drop down menu to change the language of the search interface. Read descriptions below about what non-English resources are available in the major science databases at UIC. The titles and abstracts may be in English or in the published language of the article.
- CNKIChina Academic Journals Full-text Database (also known as CAJ) is the largest continuously updated Chinese journals database in China. It has collected more than 8,000 titles with full-text articles since 1994. Has content on mathematics, physics, mechanics, astronomy, chemistry, environmental sciences, agriculture, medicine, public health, technology and other fields.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science is the largest multi-discipline science database at UIC. It has articles in 25+ non-English languages. Currently it has records for:
550,000+ articles in Spanish
180,000+ articles in Chinese
Many more languages....
Use the advanced search to find international journals published in non-English languages. - ScopusLarge multi-disciplinary citation database for peer-reviewed titles. Currently has records for:
2 mil + articles in Chinese
800,000+ articles in Spanish
5,000+ articles in Arabic
Many more languages....
Use the search Language (spanish) to find articles in Spanish and then by topic. - EBSCOhostLarge multi-disciplinary platform covering STEM and non-STEM topics. Currently has records for:
800,000+ articles in Spanish
155,000+ articles in Chinese
35,000+ articles in Arabic
Many more languages ....
Use the Advanced Search to find articles in a specific language and then search by topic. - SciELOSciELO is an electronic library covering a selected collection of Brazilian scientific journals written in Portuguese and Spanish.
- Google ScholarUse Scholar Settings to choose languages for searches.
- UIC Database A-Z ListMost databases have limit features to help narrow your search. Look to see if the database in your discipline can limit to articles in a specific language.
