AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students
that provides access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information.
Provides snapshots of current affairs. Single-themed reports are researched and written by experienced observers from a range of viewpoints. From 1923 to present.
CQ Researcher Reports are published 44 times per year and cover political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.
Growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, bilinguals, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, and directories.
A continually growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, atlases and directories. There are bilinguals, general and specialized reference books, and all can be searched from one interface. See the title list on the website.
Oxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries with emphasis on Literature and Western Civilization . Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
Note: Off campus users, if you're unable to get pass the CAPTCHA page, use the VPN or sign in to your Google account by going to My Profile on the upper left hand corner of the page.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.
Scopus contains over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide with 49 million records, 78% with abstracts. It Includes over 5.3 million conference papers and provides 100% Medline coverage with interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys,
Platform of Compendex and Inspec, the most comprehensive databases of engineering and technical research available. Backfile access only to Compendex (Engineering Index).
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group . Off campus users can also log in with username UICLib and password Eresources . Ignore the message to change password and select the search menu.
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing references and abstracts to over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, civil, mechanical and materials engineering, as well as narrower subtopics within all these major fields. Online coverage is from 1970 to the present. Around 250,000 new records are added to the database annually. Compendex is updated weekly to ensure access to critical developments in your field.
ACM Digital Library (formerly ACM Portal) offers full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Full text of every article ever published by ACM:
* Publications by Affiliated Organizations
* Special Interest Groups (SIGs)
* ACM Oral History interviews
* Computing Reviews
* The Guide to Computing Literature
Access to the Web of Science Core Collection which is the largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Note: author search temporarily not working properly. For better results, use the VPN.
The Web of Science, provided by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) a division of Thomson Reuters, is an index of current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from 1975 on. The bibliographic records from approximately 8,700 high impact research journals are mostly linked to full-text articles.
IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.
Also known as IEEE Electronic Library, this database provides full-text access to a wide range of technology and engineering materials: transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; and all current IEEE Standards.