Subject and Course Guides: Chicago History Day 2025: Welcome

Chicago History Day 2025 Research at UIC Library

This research guide is designed to help high school and middle school students on how to use the University of Illinois Chicago (UIC) Library to do research for their History Fair projects.

Make an appointment at UIC Special Collections and University Archives
Appointments are required. Please make your appointment well in advance of your visit! Our available slots fill up quickly.
Our A to Z list of finding aids
A finding aid is an inventory list, like an index, for our archival collections.
Search UIC library's online catalog
For books, journals, newspapers, and more.
UIC Library Digital collections
UIC's online collections.
UIC Library Digital Collections (beta site)
New beta search site for UIC Library's online materials.
Contact us with questions

Important dates

The following dates are tentative and are subject to change at any time. For some dates, links are provided for more information:

Kickoff for teachers October 10, 2024
Held at and sponsored by Chicago History Museum and Chicago Metro History Fair.
Dates and deadlines
Important deadlines and dates of history fair competitions in 2025

UIC Library has two Chicago locations

Daley Library general information
Library of the Health Sciences Chicago general information
Library hours
Please note that hours for Special Collections and University Archives are different from building hours.
Information about visiting the libraries in person
Library home page

Additional history day resources

The theme for History Day 2025 is RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES IN HISTORY

Chicago Metro History Day
This site includes resources for students, teachers, and volunteers.
National History Day site
Explore Chicago Collections
Explore Chicago Collections brings together archival collections from the Chicago area in one searchable database.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Chicago History Day 2025: Welcome

Chicago History Day 2025 Research at UIC Library

Important dates

UIC Library has two Chicago locations

Additional history day resources

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library