Skip to Main Content

PharmD Clinical Rotations and Concentrations

Library Access and Librarian support

Library Catalog and Databases

  • Most database access and full text documents require NetID/Password authentication. 

    • The library does not manage and cannot grant NetIDs. Contact your UIC college to inquire about obtaining/retaining your access credentials.

  • The library catalog is open to search.

    • You may only need brief descriptions from tables of contents or abstracts which often are viewable without authentication.

  • Pharmacy Guides (and many other subject guides) are still viewable. 

​​​Librarian Support

  • We can (at our discretion) offer mediated search help and send citation lists. Use the Contact Us page to request these services.

  • We do not provide full text documents to non-affiliates, but may attempt to find open access options.

  • Chat service is open to the public.

Alumni Services:

  • Full description of services are on our Alumni Services page.

  • Alumni can borrow books and other circulating materials.

    •  Chicago: Required registration with UIC alumni association and valid photo ID
    •  Rockford: Valid driver’s license
  • Alumni can transition their affiliate RefWorks account to an Alumni account (or export to other citation manager).

Open Access Resources

  • PubMed Central. The full text archive for publically funded research by NIH. Has coverage different than PubMed.  

  • PubMed. Use the  "free full text" filter after you search.

  • Directory of Open access journals. DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.

  • Free Medical journals. Has pharmacy and pharmacology topic section.

  • Install the UnPaywall extension to find open access article while searching journals themselves. 

  • Similarly, find or request open access articles through the Open Access button.

  • Can request individual articles via public library.

Purchase options

Most apps that you have been using will lose access when NetID expires. Here are links to purchase personal accounts and other options.