Finding secondary sources: Journals
Use secondary sources to learn about the development and impact of media such as newspapers in minoritized communities. Pay special attention to subject headings and keywords to refine your search.
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Use Google Scholar "cited by" feature to find newer articles that cite - and might confirm or refute - an article on your topic.
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Library Accounts
- RefWorksRefWorks is an online bibliography management service that allows you to capture citations, store them, and use them while writing papers.
Digital Sources - Newspapers
- Chicago Defender (1909-2010): ProQuest Historical NewspapersHistorical archives of the Chicago Defender digitized cover-to-cover from 1909 to 2010.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Current articles from ethnic-focused news groups worldwide.
- Latin American NewspapersGrowing collection of Latin American and Caribbean historical newspapers in a partnership between Center for Research Libraries and Newsbank to preserve and provide persistent access to historical newspapers from around the globe.
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003): ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Historical archives of the Atlanta Daily World digitized cover-to-cover from 1931 to 2003.
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005): ProQuest Historical NewspapersHistorical archives of the Los Angeles Sentinel digitized cover-to-cover from 1934 to 2005.
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002): ProQuest Historical NewspapersHistorical archives of the Pittsburgh Courier digitized cover-to-cover from 1911 to 2002.
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002): ProQuest Historical NewspapersHistorical archives of the Pittsburgh Courier digitized cover-to-cover from 1911 to 2002.
Digital Sources - Archives, Books, and Videos
- African American Communities
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
- Black Studies in Video (North America)Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes captions and transcripts.
- Black Thought and CultureNon-fiction published works of leading African Americans, as well as interviews, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters, etc. Includes the Black Panther Party newspaper.
- HistoryMakersThe HistoryMakers is the largest African American video oral history archive in the world. Currently, it offers access to more than 2,800 full-length oral-history video interviews, with more than 9000 hours with African Americans in a variety of fields including business, medicine, the arts, education, entertainment, politics, sports, and more. Includes captions and transcripts.
