About Summon (Books, Articles, and More)
What is Summon?
Summon is UIC Library’s Google-like search engine that quickly provides relevancy-ranked, credible library results through a single search box. Summon searches the UIC catalog to find our books, journals, and other materials, and it also provides results from many of our databases to find journal, magazine,and newspaper articles. You will be linked directly to the full-text of books, articles and other materials that match your search terms, when possible.
How to get what you want in Summon:
Searching in Summon is easy, but it can produce too many results. You can expand or decrease your search results by using the "Facets" found on the left side of the screen after you complete your search. Some of your facet options include:
- Limit to items with full text online
- Limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review
- Limit to articles from peer-reviewed publications
- Add results beyond your library's collection (for journal, newspaper, and magazine articles)
- Limit by Content Type including: books, journal articles, newspaper articles, book chapters, images
- Limit by Instituion (within the UIC University Library's Borrowing Consortium)
- Limit by Additional Subject terms suggested by Summon based on results
- Limit by Publication Year
- Limit by Language
In the Basic search box you can enter text to help narrow your search. Below are some examples:
- Author:(Morgan Edmund S)
- ISBN - just type in the number (i.e. 0307455475)
- Search by a phrase: "global warming"
- Additional search tips are available through the Help.
To use the Advanced search, enter search terms within a specific field (i.e. author, title, ISBN, ISSN).
How do you save an item to email, print, or export records?
- Click on the folder icon found next to the magnify glass for each record. Selected items will be moved into a folder for you.
- Once you are done collecting items of interest into your folder, click on the "Saved Items" link.
- Click to Export (Refworks, Endnote, BibTex), Email, or Print the records.
What does Summon include?
Summon includes everything in the UIC Library catalog and the I-Share catalogs in addition to scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, numerous academic databases, and digital repositories like HathiTrust.
It also includes records to books, journal articles, and other materials that the UIC Library does not have in the physical or online collection, but which can be requested through our library interlibrary loan service. To find more about what is indexed in Summon, please click here.
- Summon’s default search results for journal articles is limited to the content available online through the University of Illinois at Chicago.
- Summon’s default search results for books and other physical materials includes all material within I-Share (an Illinois Library Consortium).
Searching Summon Off-Campus
Important: If you are searching from off campus, sign in to using your NetID to access our full-text materials. It will also expand your search results.