Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Public Access Mandates for Federally Funded Research: Federally Funded Public Access Mandates

About OSTP Directive

In 2013, the White House Office of Science & Technology Policy mandated that federal agencies with Research & Development budgets of over $100M devise plans for providing access to research publications and data created as a result of grants. Below is a summary of individual agency plans and where to deposit materials.

The University of Illinois at Chicago University Library provides consultations on article and data management planning and compliance with these public access mandates.

For questions or details about the specific policies and requirements, email escholarship@uic.edu, email Sandy De Groote, Scholarly Communication Librarian (sgroote@uic.edu) or contact your liaison librarian.

Below is a summary table of the agencies that have made their implementation plans public, followed by links to the implementation plans along with brief summaries of the proposed solutions for providing public access to articles (A) and digital data sets (D):

Public Access Mandates (Data Plan, Data Share, and Public Access to Articles)

Browse data and article sharing policies by Agency - SPARC

Policies at a glance (see below for details)

Agency

Effective Date

Article Solution (A)

Maximum Embargo Period

Data Solution (D)

AHRQ

A - Feb, 2015

D – Oct, 2015

PubMed Central (PMC)

12 months

Commercial repository, yet to be named*

ASPR**

A – Oct,  2015

D – Oct, 2015

PMC

12 months

Scientific data repositories, data.gov data registry

CDC**

A – July, 2013

D – Oct, 2015

CDC Stacks, using NIHMS submission system

12 months

Multiple solutions + data registry

DOD

A – Oct,  2015

D – Oct, 2015

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

12 months

No specific solution* 

DOE

A – Oct,  2014

D – Oct, 2015

Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (PAGES)

12 months

Varies by office*

DOT

 

N/A

N/A

To be released 

FDA**

A – Oct,  2015

D – Oct, 2015

PMC

12 months

Disciplinary data repositories, where available*

NASA

A – Oct,  2015

D – Oct, 2015

NASA branded PMC portal

12 months

NASA archives, or other repository*

NIST

A – Oct,  2015

D – Oct, 2015

PMC interface

12 months + reserves right to shorten or extend period

EDI registry of datasets, Developing a Common Access infrastructure* 

NIH**

A – 2008

D – Dec, 2015

PMC

12 months

Multiple solutions + Data Discovery Index

NOAA

A – 2016

D - 2016

NOAA Institutional Repository, using CDC Stacks

12 months

Multiple solutions short term + NOAA Data Centers for data “worthy” of long term preservation 

NSF

A – Jan, 2016

D – Jan, 2016

PAGES

12 months

An “appropriate repository”* 

SI

 

SRO, CHORUS

12 months

SRO, approved external, community-supported or discipline-specific repositories, or via CHORUS* 

USDA

A – Jan, 2016

USDA public access archive system (PubAg)

12 months

USDA registry of datasets, other repository options* 

USAID

 

N/A

N/A

USAID repository: Development Data Library, or other 

USGS

D – Feb, 2015

 

 

Interim policy

VA

 

PMC

12 months

Partner with HHS, NIH, FDA, and DoD on “effective mechanisms”* 

 

*Will require data management plans (DMPs)
** Exploring a data commons solution through HHS auspices. Additionally, data management costs may be included in the budget.

Agencies with a data policy that are NOT subject to the OSTP memo

  • National Institute of Justice (NIJ)
  • NEH Office of Digital Humanities (ODH)

Public Access Mandates - Details

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)

Implementation plan: link

(A) Authors will be required to deposit publications in the PubMed Central database.
(D) DMP required. Data will be submitted to a commercial repository.


Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR)

Implementation Plan: link

(A) Authors will be required to deposit publications in the PubMed Central database.
(D) DMP required. In-scope digital scientific data sets resulting from research projects must be deposited in a recognized scientific data repository capable of long-term preservation of the data and open access to the public within 30 months from the creation of the data set or upon publication of a peer reviewed publication based on the data set, whichever is sooner. Additionally, a metadata document  for the data, using common core metadata, must be submitted to ASPR, and will be made publicly available on data.gov, and other appropriate sharing locations such as phe.gov. Also, new awards will not be given unless terms of previous awards are met, including the conditions detailed in data sharing and management plans.


Center for Disease Control

Implementation Plan: link (January 2015)

(A) Authors must submit final, peer-reviewed journal manuscripts to the CDC Stacks repository using the National Institute of Health Manuscript Submission (NIHMS) system, upon acceptance of the manuscript.
(D) DMP required (Appendix B of the above linked document, will eventually be electronically fillable). Minimal data must be released at the time of article publication, with more detailed data released according to CDC standard research data release timeline; all data intended for release, regardless of publication, should be made accessible within 30 months of the end of data collection. Researchers should use the repositories available to them, including the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) or CDC WONDER; other options are under development.


Department of Defense (DOD)

Implementation plan: link

(A) Authors must submit final, peer-reviewed journal manuscripts to the Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) system upon acceptance for publication.
(D) DMP required. Digitally formatted scientific data sets should be stored and publicly accessible to search, retrieve, and analyze; publicly releasable primary data, samples, and other supporting materials created or gathered in the course of work should be publicly accessible at no more than incremental cost and within a reasonable time.


Department of Energy (DOE)

Implementation plan: link

(A) Discoverability and access to version of record publications will be made possible through the portal and search interface tool, the Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (PAGES), and in cases where the publisher-hosted version of record is not publicly accessible, the DOE will provide access to accepted manuscripts in publicly accessible repositories, of which the DOE’s OSTI repository may be one.
(D) DMP required (templates). Different offices will have different requirements for storage and public access link, notably the EERE which has not yet released its requirements.


Department of Transportation (DOT)

Planning phase: link

(A) This document does not address publication of major research findings.
(D) A plan for data is to be released in early 2015, with a target implementation of October 2015.


Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Implementation plan: link

(A) Authors will be required to deposit final peer-reviewed versions of articles in the PubMed Central database.
(D) DMP required. Researchers are expected to make data accessible in discipline specific repositories, where available, at the time of article publication.


National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Implementation plan: link

(A) Publications will be made available through a NASA-branded portal to the National Institute of Health’s PubMed Central ® (PMC) platform, following the NASA-sponsored author’s submission of an exact copy of the as-accepted manuscript or the publisher-transmitted copy of the Version of Record.
(D) DMP required. The requirement for public access to sharable data may be met by including data with the publication as supplementary material, through NASA archives, or through other means, and means of access should be indicated in the published article.


National Institutes of Health

Implementation Plan: link (February 2015)

(A) Authors must submit final, peer-reviewed journal manuscripts to PMC. More on the NIH Public Access Policy
(D) DMP required. While data may be deposited in any of the many already existing public repositories, using community standards of data collection and description, NIH is also funding the development of a data discovery index, and will continue to explore the development of a data commons.


National Institute of Standards and Technology

Implementation Plan: link  [PDF] (April 2015) – as applied to unclassified research projects

(A) Authors must submit either the version of record or the final accepted peer-reviewed manuscript upon acceptance for publication, plus the associated public access archive system metadata through NIST’s PMC interface, all of which should be publicly available within 12 months of publication, although NIST reserves the right to shorten or lengthen this embargo period.
(D) AN ‘effective’ DMP is required, which should address all digital data as defined by OMB Circular A-110, and explicitly address data that will support publications. Under the guidance provided in the Project Open Data component of OMB memorandum M-13-13, metadata for existing data should conform to the schema posted at https://project-open-data.cio.gov/ and be submitted to the NIST Enterprise Data Inventory (EDI), which is visible at http://www.data.gov. NIST will continue to “track and respond to changes in digital technologies” as it develops the Common Access Platform (CAP) for data distribution. Data should be made available 12 months following publication of the associated article.


National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Implementation Plan: link

(A) Authors must submit the final accepted peer-reviewed manuscript, in an accessible format, upon acceptance for publication to the NOAA Institutional Repository. These materials must be made publicly  and freely available within 12 months.
(D) Data Sharing Plan will be required. Data refers to “digitally formatted scientific data resulting from unclassified research supported wholly or in part by Federal funding;” numerical model outputs and software or tools required to ingest or read data in the formats offered are included in this definition. Data must be made available with article publication for supporting data, or within one year of collection for other data. NOAA will employ short term access solutions such as SHARE and participation in developing an interagency Research Data Commons based on FAIR principles in addition to long term preservation at NOAA data centers.


National Science Foundation (NSF)

Implementation Plan: link Summary: link

(A) Authors must submit either the version of record or the final accepted peer-reviewed manuscript to the DOE’s Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (PAGES) repository in PDF/A format that should be available for download, reading, and analysis free of charge no later than 12 months after initial publication, with machine-readable metadata available at initial publication.
(D) A 2-page DMP is required. “All data resulting from the research funded by the award, whether or not the data support a publication, should be deposited at the appropriate repository as explained in the DMP.”


Smithsonian Institute (SI)

Implementation Plan: link

(A)An electronic copy or link to such copy of either the version of record or the final accepted peer-reviewed manuscript must be submitted to Smithsonian-managed or -approved repositories after a 12-month (or other negotiated) embargo following official publication date. Implementation will be managed through  Smithsonian Research Online (SRO; http://research.si.edu) and Clearinghouse for Open Research of the United States (CHORUS; www.chorusaccess.org).
(D)DMPs are required as per Smithsonian Directive 610 http://www.si.edu/content/pdf/about/sd/SD610.pdf. Digital research data supporting publications must be submitted via an electronic copy or link to such copy to Smithsonian-managed or -approved repositories. Data may be submitted to SRO or be deposited in an approved external, community-supported or discipline-specific repository, or via CHORUS.


US Agency for International Development (USAID)

Implementation Plan: N/A

(A) N/A
(D) http://www.usaid.gov/sites/default/files/documents/1868/579.pdf Section 579.3.3.: The Development Data Library (DDL) is one part of the strategy to increase public access to data. Researchers may submit data to DDL, or if it is submitted to another repository, they “must submit a notice to the DDL, providing details on where and how to access the data, in accordance with the instructions found at www.usaid.gov/data.” (http://blog.usaid.gov/2014/10/announcing-usaids-open-data-policy/)


US Department of Agriculture (USDA)

Implementation plan: link

(A) Effective January 2016, authors of publications accepted for publication on or after this date will submit to the USDA public access archive system (PubAg) all final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts once the manuscript is accepted for publication, or the final published article, provided the author has the right to submit the published version.
(D) Phased approach, with mainstream implementation targeted for 2016-2017 and DMPs to be required, likely starting January 2016. USDA will support a registry of datasets, and are continuing to explore other repository options.


US Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)

Implementation plans:  link and PMC Deposit

(A): Authors will be required to deposit publications in the PubMed Central database upon acceptance of publication, and make available within 12 months of publication.
(D):  Clinical Trial information will continue to be submitted to and be available from https://clinicaltrials.gov/. For other types of digital research data, a DMP is required and, “VA will seek partnerships with HHS, NIH, FDA, and DoD to identify and share effective mechanisms” for public accessibility under both open and controlled access conditions.


Further information on plans and implementations:

The material on this page is licensed with a CC-BY License 3.0 from Columbia University Scholarly Communication Program