Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

E-books 101: Home

Comparison of UIC E-book platforms for how much one can print, download, and view on a mobile device

Using Our E-book Collections

This guide features the UIC Library's subscription platforms for electronic books.  Users also have the option of exploring free sources such as those listed in the tabs above (Open Textbook Catalog, Project Gutenberg, HathiTrust Digital Library).

E-Book Availability

Because UIC gets e-books from so many sources, some limits apply:

* Some e-books are rented, not owned, and might be removed without notice by the vendor.

* Some e-books are limited to one reader at a time.

Most UIC Library E-books are available through ebrary

Creating your ebrary account gives you the ability to:

  • Make bookmarks and page notes for any available book.
  • Highlight text in any available book.
  • Quickly and easily access all books you have bookmarked, notated, or highlighted.
  • Be notified of new features and new document collections as they become available.
  • ebrary: New Account Edit/Delete Quick Stats
    Need an account? Create an account with a username and password of your choosing.

An ebrary account must be created to download and print book chapters.You may download a chapter, page range or entire e-book (up to 10 documents at a time) with a limit of up to 10% for the entire e-book.  You may download/view content on the following devices: Android, iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch (e-books are not available on Kindles).

Users may use the Bluefire app to download ebrary books to a mobile device for offline reading. The Bluefire app can be used on iOS (iPad and iPhone) and Android devices.  Nook HD tablet users will also need to download and authorize Bluefire Reader for Android to read ebrary, EBL, and EBSCO (and other ebooks that use Adobe's Digital Rights Management controls) ebooks on a mobile device.

To download the Bluefire app simply visit the App Store or Google Play

Platform Name How much can you download? How many pages can you print? Can you download/view on a mobile device?

Access Medicine

Access Anesthesiology

Access Emergency Medicine

Access Pediatrics

Access Pharmacy

Access Physiotherapy

Access Surgery

My AccessMedicine – Create a personal account to utilize Custom Curriculum, save and download images Users may currently print one page at a time for the first 25% of the book.

Mobile-optimized versions are currently available for the following sites:

  • AccessMedicine
  • AccessEmergency Medicine
  • AccessPediatrics
  • AccessPharmacy

Devices which support the mobile optimized version of the site include the iPhone, Blackberry Bold, and Android devices.

 

ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection Not stated

Ten pages may be downloaded or printed at a time. This is generally sufficient for following a citation or extracting a quotation and follows HEB’s policy for fair-use rights and limitations.

Please click on the link below to see which titles are available in mobile-friendly formats:

HEB currently offers a subset of titles from its online collection as downloadable/ mobile editions formatted for use with various handheld devices.

http://humanitiesebook.org/the-collection/handheld-editions.html.

 

Books@Ovid Complete citations; whole chapters Complete citations; whole (or sectioned) chapters Nook HD Tablet
Brill Many complete e-books, chapters and articles; additional materials available for purchase Many complete e-books, chapters and articles; additional materials available for purchase iPhone, iPad, Android
CARLI EBL e-books Not all libraries enable EBL download functionality, but for those that do, EBL ebooks can be downloaded for reading offline. You'll find download buttons on either the full record page, or on the "Download" tab in the EBL Online Reader.

Ebooks downloaded to personal computers are read via Adobe Digital Editions (ADE). Please ensure you have this free software installed before downloading.

Please also check the ADE system requirements.

 
The default printing allowance is 40% of each ebook, and the copying allowance is 20%. Similar restrictions apply when you read ebooks offline.
The EBL system manages these allowances and remaining print/copy balances can be viewed for each ebook on the Details tab in the Online Reader. The EBL Print Screen will also tally your remaining print balance while you print.

Patrons using iPads, iPhones or Android devices can download and read EBL content via the free Bluefire Reader app.

Downloaded EBL ebooks can also be transferred to any portable ebook reader that supports Adobe Digital Editions (ADE). There's a list of these compatible devices on the ADE website.

In addition to these options, all portable devices with browser support can access EBL and Read Online via the web.

ClinicalKey May download one chapter at a time. To access the PDF copy, individual registration is required. Please log in or create a personal account at the upper right hand corner of the ClinicalKey home page. May print one chapter at a time Mobile optimized; will adapt to the screen of any mobile device or tablet
Credo Electronically bookmark, download and save individual entries included in the Works Print out single copies of individual entries found in the Works for purposes of private study or research Not stated

EBSCOhost  (Choose database "eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)")

If your library offers eBook download capabilities, you may choose to download an eBook to your computer and read it offline at a later time.

Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing. This free software can be downloaded from this link.

Up to 100 pages of an eBook can be saved for printing or emailing per user as a PDF file from within the eBook Full Text viewer.

Note: The number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.

iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android
EEBO - Early English Books Online

You may download an entire book from EEBO, or a custom range of pages.

 

You may create printouts of materials retrieved through the Products via on-line printing, off-line printing, facsimile, or electronic mail.

Not stated
Gale Virtual Reference Library You may download an HTML or PDF file of an e-book article, chapter or section Printing is generally limited to one entry. GALE's app AccessMyLibrary College Edition is available for Android® and iPhone®, iPod Touch® and iPad®.
IEEE-Wiley eBook Library Books can be downloaded chapter by chapter. Full text access to all e-Book titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2015 Whole chapters at a time All major handheld PDAs
Oxford

Up to a single chapter or 5% of a single chapter from each Oxford title (whichever is greater)

Up to a single chapter or 5% of a single chapter from each Oxford title (whichever is greater)

 

iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry (OSO is now "fully mobilized," no specific devices named.)
R2 Digital Library The R2 Digital Library does not allow direct download of eBooks Users are able to print or email sections of the R2 digital Library Tablets, smartphones and web-capable eReaders
Safari May download and store Sections of a work on the individual User's hard drive or other storage device for such individual User's personal use only

May print Sections - the limited portion of a work that is displayed to the User at one time by the Service -- of a work.
Individual pages can be printed. 

Apps available for iPad, iPhone, Android Phones, Android Tablets, and Blackberry Playbook for those who have Personal Safari accounts
Sage Whole chapters/articles at a time Whole chapters/articles at a time E-book reader compatible. Mobile-optimized version available for iPad, iPhone, iPod, Android, Blackberry
ScienceDirect Whole book (one chapter at a time); full articles Whole chapters/articles at a time iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry
SpringerLink Whole book (one chapter at a time) Whole chapters at a time; also can order paperback versions for $24.95 iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Nook HD Tablet
Stat!Ref Online: Electronic Medical Library Only citations may be downloaded. Because of publisher restrictions there are limits on how much you can print at a time. Whole chapters usually will not print in their entirety.

Apps available for iPhone and iPad, Android, and BlackBerry

World Bank e-Library Whole book (may also download one chapter at a time). All eBooks since 2014 are now available to eLibrary subscribers as full text without the need to download a PDF or ePub. No limit to number of pages for printing May be downloaded to mobile devices. eLibrary for Mobile supports iOS: 6.1 and later, and Android: 2.3 and later.