Professor Gonzalez Vicker
Schedule a Consultation
3D Printing at the Library of Health Sciences
Library Programs Survey
Library of Health Sciences Resources
Search the Catalog: To find books by title, author, or subject, search our Library Catalog (link here).
Items from Other Libraries: iShare will quickly deliver physical items from Illinois academic libraries. iShare (link here).
Reserve a Study Space: (Link Here) Make sure you select the correct location. "Library of Health Sciences-Chicago."
Request PDF Scans or Articles: Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) allows you to request scanned articles and items not available in I-Share. ILLiad (link here).
Anatomical Models: The library has several anatomical models for in-Library use. Anatomical Models (link here).
Helpful Information:
- MeSH Terms = Medical Subject Headings.
- Information on Fair Use within Academia (link here).
- Library Hours (link here).
Library Databases (Tab 1), Citation Resources (Tab 2)
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- UptoDateOnline, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
- Dentistry & Oral Sciences SourceWith Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source, dental practitioners and researchers have a definitive place to start and finish their online dental research. This database offers complete coverage for top dental and oral sciences journals commonly purchased by dental schools and related institutions.
. - Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration
. - EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.
- LexiDrug via Up-To-DateHelping healthcare professionals by providing the most trusted drug and clinical information available, delivered across multiple platforms, and easily integrated into daily workflow.
. - Clinical PharmacologyContains current, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Statistics and Reports
- MCH Library Knowledge Path: Oral Health for Infants, Children, Adolescents, and Pregnant Women"This knowledge path about oral health for infants, children, adolescents, and pregnant women has been compiled by the National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center (OHRC) and the Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University. It offers a selection of current, high-quality resources that analyze data, describe effective programs, and report on policy and research aimed at improving access to oral health care and quality of oral health for infants, children, adolescents, an
- NIDCR Data and StatisticsData and statistics from the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
Books
To find books by title, author, or subject, search our Library Catalog.
Books at the Library of the Health Sciences are shelved by the National Library of Medicine Classification system. Generally, books about dentistry or books written specifically for dentists or dental assistants are classified "WU":
WU 1-49: Reference Works. General Works
WU 50-95: Ethics, Professional Practice and Personnel, Records
WU 100-113.7: Anatomy, Physiology, Hygiene
WU 140-166: Diseases, Injuries, Technology, Therapeutics
WU 170-190: Dental Chemistry and Materials
WU 210-290: Dental Anatomy, Diseases
WU 300-360: Operative Dentistry
WU 400-440: Orthodontic
WU 460-495: Special Patient Groups
WU 500-530: Prosthodontics
WU 600-640: Oral Surgery
Dentistry Anti-Racism Resource Guide
Look Up a Journal, Database, or Textbook
Featured Evidence Based Dentistry (EBD) Resources
- Cochrane Oral HealthThe Cochrane Collaboration's Oral Health Group produces reviews and protocols for Cochrane.
Daily Elf: EBD Updates
Catch up on the latest in EBD with these daily updates from the Daily Elf, written by the Director of the Centre for Evidence-based Dentistry.