Contact Us
Email: lib-lhsu-ref@uic.edu
Call: 217-244-0607
Library Toolbox
Find books and more by searching the library catalog:
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested via the I-Share Catalog.
Find full text
Search for E-journals, Magazines, Newspapers or E-books
Full text for a known article
links to full text information from within library database results.
My Account
Connect to My Account in the Library Catalog
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
RefWorks
Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with 
Recommended Resources
- ACP Journal Club
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- The Cochrane LibraryIndependent medical evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
- DynaMed Evidence-based reference tool intended for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. This resource was partially acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
- Essential Evidence Plus Current answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. Can be downloaded to a hand-held device.
- GIDEON - Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network Clinical tool used for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. This resource was partially acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
- JBI Connect Clinical evidence-based system for nursing and medicine. Provided by the Joanna Briggs Institute. To create a personal account, users will need to register twice using the same username and password.
- MEDLINE through Ovid (1947 to Present) National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
- Nursing Reference Center The most recent clinical evidence to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. This resource was partially acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
- PubMed PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- RefWorks RefWorks is an online bibliography management service that allows you to capture citations, store them, and use them while writing papers.
Online Instruction Opportunities for Nurses
The following classes require enrollment. Please go to the Online Workshops page to register.
Advanced Searching for Nurses
- Wednesday, February 20, 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Instructor: Kelly
- Tuesday, February 26, 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Instructor: Chris
- Thursday, February 28, 6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. Instructor: Ryan
- Tuesday, March 5, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Instructor: Rebecca
PubMed Basics for Nurses
- Tuesday, February 19, 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Instructor: Ryan
- Thursday, February 21, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Instructor: Rebecca
- Wednesday, February 27, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Instructor: Kelly
- Thursday, March 7, 11:00 a.m. – Noon. Instructor: Chris
RefWorks Instruction
This session covers RefWorks, a Web-based bibliographic mangagement application that is licensed by the UIC library. Learn how to create a RefWorks account that you can access both on and off campus, how to export references from databases and import references into RefWorks, how to use Write n Cite to develop a bibliography as you write, and how to generate a bibliography using multiple format options.
The following classes require enrollment. Please go to the Online Workshops page to register.
RefWorks Spring 2013
- Tuesday, January 29, 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Instructor: Rebecca
- Wednesday, February 13, 4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Instructor: Rebecca
- Tuesday, February 26, 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Instructor: Rebecca
- Wednesday, March 13, 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Instructor: Rebecca
- Wednesday, March 27, 1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Instructor: Rebecca
Related Links
Information Services
Ask a Librarian
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163
LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8491
CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650
LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607
Chat with a Librarian (IM Reference)
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm

Loading...
