Newspaper Collections
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and Washington Post.
-
Latin American Newspapers
Growing collection of Latin American and Caribbean historical newspapers in a partnership between Center for Research Libraries and Newsbank to preserve and provide persistent access to historical newspapers from around the globe.
Search for Archival Collections
The following databases can be used to search for archival materials from other libraries' collections.
-
ArchiveGridArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
-
WorldCat (FirstSearch platform)
Union catalog with holdings information from libraries across the world.
Databases with LAS Interest
Some of the following databases might be useful, depending on specific topics.
-
Alternative Press Index
Alternative Press Index covers alternative radical and left publications. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Selected works on social sciences and the humanities in Latin America (1936 to present).
-
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Also provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
-
Political Science Abstracts WorldwideInternational literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. From 1975 to present. See also Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
-
Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
