Important Links Heading link
Intro text. Heading link
Access UIC Library services and resources, both in-person and online. This is a good page to bookmark. For more information, please Contact Us.
Link Tiles Heading link
Visiting in person Heading link
The UIC Library has four physical locations in three Illinois cities, in addition to the UIC School of Law Library. For UIC campus-level maps, see UIC Maps.
Opening Hours
Please see our Library Hours.
Check Out a Book
The book stacks are open. UIC community members may opt instead to locate and request books online before visiting, to pick up from the circulation desk or through low-contact delivery. Members of the public and non-UIC affiliated visitors are welcome to use UIC items and resources in any of our physical locations. UIC alumni may apply for an Alumni Borrowing Card.
Special Collections and University Archives
Special Collections access is currently by advance appointment only, with separate visiting hours. See Visit Special Collections for more information.
Food and Drink
Beverages and eating that does not negatively affect others (smell, mess, etc.) is allowed. See Can I eat or drink in the Library for more information.
Daley Library Heading link
(PDF, 11.8MB)
Building Access
The Richard J. Daley Library is open to the public. For current hours, see Opening Hours.
Study Rooms
Group study rooms are available with an online reservation.
Seat Reservations
Reservations are not currently required for most seats in the Daley Library. This is subject to change; please check back here for any updates.
Study Carrels
Study carrels are not currently available in the Daley Library.
Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago Heading link
Library of the Health Sciences seating map
(PDF 64K)
Building Access
- Monday – Saturday: LHS Chicago is generally open to the public. See Opening Hours.
- Sunday: UIC affiliates can swipe into the building using their i-Card. Non-UIC visitors may call the Circulation desk for access: (312) 996-8966; please sign-in once inside.
Study Rooms
Single person study rooms are available with an online reservation.
Seat Reservations
Reservations are not currently required for most seats in the Library of the Health Sciences. This is subject to change; please check back here for any updates.
Peoria, Rockford Heading link
For UIC Library locations outside Chicago, please consult their respective home pages:
Please also see UIC School of Law Library (Frequently Asked Questions).
Online access Heading link
Library services and collections are available online. Some access may require a Library Account and/or the UIC Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Chat with a Librarian is available; see the Library Hours.
Online Access, continued Heading link
Finding materials
You can Search our Collections online, or Browse our Collections instead.
- See Use the Library Search for a quick introduction to our search system, and Search Help for a more in-depth guide
- More on searching articles, databases and journals
- More on searching for newspapers and magazines
- Some Search Tips
- Search this Library Website directly
Getting materials
Library materials are available to patrons both on- and off-campus, with a valid Library Account.
- Access materials via Remote Access, or Request Items via I-Share and Interlibrary Loan
- Find Course Reserves
- Get textbooks
- Check out a laptop
Social media Heading link
X / Twitter
- See UIC Library for the main University Library feed.
- Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago
- Richard J. Daley Library (Chicago)
- Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago
- Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford