Find items on the UIC Library website, including research guides, help articles, events and website pages.
Anthropology: Getting Started
Finding background information
The three sources listed below provide background information that can give context to and guide your research. These sources also provide vocabulary to use in searching for books and journal articles relevant to your research.
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that comprises more than 3,900 commissioned articles and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Sage Research Methods provide online access to the wide variety of resources from Sage publishing: more than 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series, a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos.
Union catalog with holdings information from libraries across the world.
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information from 2100 B.C. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world. Now includes the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. Includes records produced by Connextion users.
AnthroSource is an online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists.
AnthroSource is an online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). It is a portal to information about the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. AnthroSource provides current content 32 AAA publications.
Citations to articles in anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, bringing together Anthropological Literature from Harvard and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK.
Brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
Persee provides open access to back files of more than 150 French scientific journals in the field of the humanities. Journals have moving walls of different lengths that block access to recent issues. Persee has advanced functionalities which facilitate and enhance use of the portal’s resources.
Cross-cultural database with more than 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life organized into cultures and ethnic groups and subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University. The mission of HRAF, a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, is to encourage and facilitate worldwide and other comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.
A unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological and prehistory studies.
The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is a cross-cultural database that currently contains nearly 60,000 pages of information on the world's prehistory. This unique, annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are all subject-indexed to the paragraph level. A unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
The eHRAF databases are produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University. The mission of HRAF, a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, is to encourage and facilitate worldwide and other comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.
The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense. This database contains committee minutes and other documents from the late 19th century to the present. It also contains manuscripts, photos and maps from the Institute.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
INDIGO provided by the UIC Library
Free access to the intellectual work of UIC is provided through INDIGO, the repository of intellectual property in digital form available online in an open environment.